Skip to Main Content

Venteicher Rare Book Room

Ahmanson Law Center 50-Year Anniversary

Architect's Rendering of Ahmanson Law Center




The opening of the Ahmanson Law Center — named for 1923 Creighton law alumnus Hayden Ahmanson and supported by the Ahmanson Foundation — ushered in a new era for the School of Law. The 86,000-square-foot building brought classroom space for 500 students, a trial courtroom, a law library containing 100,000 volumes and an apartment to house visiting professors and guests.




       Architect's Rendering of the Ahmanson Law Center

1972 aerial view of proposed campus constructionIn 1972, an aerial perspective showcased the proposed locations for upcoming campus developments, with the School of Law designated for the vacant space in the lower left-hand corner. California Street retained its flow of vehicular traffic during this period. In 1974, the city bestowed ownership of the section of California Street between 24th and 26th Street to the University, paving the way for the eventual construction of the Mall.

The Docket October 1972



An October 1972 article featured in The Docket, the student newspaper of the School of Law, details the description of the new building.



Law Center Construction 1973Law Center Construction 1973Law Center Construction 1973-1974


                                                                                              Omaha World-Herald July 8, 1973

                                                                                                               Omaha World-Herald, July 8, 1973


Previous School of Law Buildings

Creighton Insitute 1905-1921




Creighton Institute 1905-1921
210 South 18th Street

Creighton School of Law 1921-1974




                                                                                                        School of Law 1921-1974
                                                                                                        26th & California Street