Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

European Union Law: Institutions and Sources

This guide provides an overview of the structure and lawmaking activities of the EU Institutions as well as resources for EU research.

Council of the European Union

Also referred to as the Council of Ministers, the Council should not be confused with the European Council which is comprised of the Heads of State of Member States and President of the Commission, or the Council of Europe, another international organization.   The Council is the Union’s legislative body.  The power to legislate is shared with the European Parliament through the co-decision procedure established in the Treaty of Amsterdam.  The Council also coordinates common economic policy, foreign policy and matters of home affairs based on the “three pillars” set out in the Treaty of European Union.

Council of the European Union Website