LibraryGuides: Research 101: The Health Sciences: Databases

Databases at Creighton

Did you know that the University Libraries subscribe to 200+ research databases? We provide comprehensive information access to support our comprehensive programs and research interests. Check out the link below to access our full list of databases to get started on your search! (Hint: it makes a great browser bookmark.)

Another way to navigate to our list of Databases A-Z is by visiting the University Libraries homepage. In the center is our JaySearch widget which has a tab for our Databases A-Z. This list can also be found on our homepage under Quick Links where we provide shortcuts to our most popular resources and services.

A-Z Databases
A complete list of databases available through Creighton University Libraries.

Freely Available Databases & Tools

As a Creighton student, you have an information privilege that many clinics or organizations may not, meaning that not all the subscription databases will be available to you when you graduate and begin your practice. Below are tools that may be beneficial to get familiar with -- and compare to Creighton resources as part of developing your EBP skills -- to understand information access in a larger context.

Clinical Trials (ClinicalTrials.gov)
A registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.

Google Scholar
A simple way to search scholarly materials on the open web. To view links directly to CU Libraries' resources when searching Google Scholar, be sure to make us your library. You can do this by navigating to the menu at the top left > Settings > Library links > add Creighton University.

Medscape
Medscape is the leading online global destination for physicians and healthcare professionals worldwide, offering the latest medical news and expert perspectives; essential point-of-care drug and disease information; and relevant professional education and CME.

Medscape membership is free and gives you unlimited access to the entire network of sites and services.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
Evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Includes a Glossary of Terms used in the guidelines.
PubMed Central
A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.