LibraryGuides: Multicultural Health: LGBTQIA+ Health

General Resources

LIDEAA Titles

For a highlights list of general materials on LGBTQIA+ communities and topics in the University Libraries collections, please visit the Library Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, Accessibility, & Anti-Racism (LIDEAA) guide curated by the LIDEAA Committee.

Browse the Libraries by Subject

Use the link(s) below to browse all materials (articles, books, journals, etc.) by indicated subject that the University Libraries has access to. Please note, this is NOT an exhaustive list of subjects, but is intended to help your initial search and browsing.

Subject: LGBTQ+ People
Subject: Gender Identity
Subject: Sexual Orientation
Subject: LGBTQ Studies
Homosaurus: An International LGBTQ+ Linked Data Vocabulary
The Homosaurus is an international linked data vocabulary of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) terms. This vocabulary is intended to function as a companion to broad subject term vocabularies, such as the Library of Congress Subject Headings. Libraries, archives, museums, and other institutions are encouraged to use the Homosaurus to support LGBTQ research by enhancing the discoverability of their LGBTQ resources.
Brandeis Library Guide: LGBTQIA+ Subject Headings
LGBTQIA+ Subject Headings search for books, media, and other resources.

Use any subject headings included by the Brandeis Librarians in your JaySearch (CU Libraries catalog) to find CU access to materials.

Finding Archived Information

Wayback Machine | The Internet Archive
The Wayback Machine is an initiative of the Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Today we have 28+ years of web history.

LGBTQIA+ Health: Databases

ABC-CLIO
Full-text books in humanities, social sciences, gender studies, African American Studies, Latino Studies, and Native American Studies.
Access World News
Current and historical news articles from local, regional, national, and international newspapers, including the Omaha World-Herald and the Omaha Star.
PsycInfo (APA)
Search articles from more than 1,300 periodicals, as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials, in psychology and related fields, plus books, book chapters, and dissertations (1887-present). Includes a thesaurus feature to suggest productive search terms to guide users to relevant results.
CINAHL Complete
Provides comprehensive coverage of the journal literature (over 650 journals) related to nursing and the allied health disciplines, from 1982 to the present.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile)
This database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)
This database contains periodicals and reference book content designed for both nursing and allied health students, as well as consumer health researchers.
MEDLINE Complete
An authoritative index of biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. It also provides the full text of over 2,500 of the journals in the database.
Scopus
An abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows users to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
SocINDEX with Full Text
This resource is a full-text research database covering sociology and related disciplines. It features hundreds of full-text journals and millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus. Journals covers a broad range of studies, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work. Informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895 are also available.

LGBTQIA+ Health: Books

Addressing Health Disparities in the LGBTQIA+ Community by Sade Kosoko-Lasaki; Mark Goodman; Michael White Addressing Health Disparities in the LGBTQIA+ Community is a comprehensive compilation of medical students' researches, reflections and discussions on the issue of health disparities experienced by the LGBTQIA community in the healthcare industry. It is a book that would be a good resource to medical students, health professions students in the Dentistry, Pharmacy, Occupational Therapy, Nursing, Public Health and the Social Sciences. This book is a good read by all healthcare providers and the general public as well.
Call Number: WA 300 AA1 A2279 2020
ISBN: 9781098347154
Publication Date: 2021
Black LGBT Health in the United States : the intersection of race, gender, and sexual orientation by Lourdes Dolores Follins (Editor); Jonathan Mathias Lassiter (Editor,) Focuses on the mental, physical, and spiritual aspects of health, and considers both risk and resiliency factors for the Black LGBT population. Contributors to this collection intimately understand the associations between health and intersectional anti-Black racism, heterosexism, homonegativity, biphobia, transphobia, and social class. This collection fills a gap in current scholarship by providing information about an array of health issues like cancer, juvenile incarceration, and depression that affect all subpopulations of Black LGBT people, especially Black bisexual-identified women, Black bisexual-identified men, and Black transgender men. This book is recommended for readers interested in psychology, health, gender studies, race studies, social work, and sociology.
ISBN: 9781498535762
Publication Date: 2016-12-13
Trans and Non-Binary Gender Healthcare for Psychiatrists, Psychologists, and Other Health Professionals by Christina Richards; James Barrett Gender diversity is now recognised as simply part of human diversity, rather than being pathological. This shift calls for a need for mental health professionals to adapt their practice when working with trans and non-binary people. Written by two clinicians with significant experience in this field, this book provides practical, everyday advice on what to do when seeing gender-diverse people in both inpatient and outpatient settings. It avoids focusing on academic theory or being overly political and, instead, offers straightforward, useful guidance on common issues clinicians may face, such as which ward to accommodate someone on or which name to use when. Topics include common drug interactions, differential diagnoses, complex case formulation, autistic spectrum conditions, the spectrum of sexualities, surgeries, legal and religious matters, forensic assessment, psychotherapy and mental health diagnoses. Fully relevant to contemporary practice, this is a much-needed guide for busy clinicians seeking immediate, practical and authoritative answers.
ISBN: 9781108703024
Publication Date: 2020
Transformations in Queer, Trans, and Intersex Health and Aging by Alexandra C. H. Nowakowski; J. E. Sumerau; Nik M. Lampe This book utilizes collaborative autoethnography to examine transformations in health and aging among queer, trans, and intersex people in society. To this end, the authors each utilize their lived experiences as queer, trans, and/or intersex people to discuss inequalities and norms in U.S. healthcare. Further, they elaborate upon some ways U.S. healthcare systems may become more inclusive of queer, trans, and intersex populations over time. In so doing, they utilize the autoethnographic cases to illustrate and describe the complexities of sex, gender, and sexualities in health and aging as well as the ways such intricacies facilitate societal inequalities in health and aging.
ISBN: 9781793616340
Publication Date: 2020-10-07
Transgender 101: a simple guide to a complex issue by Nicholas M. Teich
Call Number: HQ77.9 .T45 2012
ISBN: 9780231157124
Publication Date: 2012

LGBTQIA+ Health: Publications

Journal Access Tips

We may have access to the journals through several of our subscriptions, so we recommend paying attention to which database will give you access to the volumes and issues (publication years/months/weeks/etc.) you're looking for. Ofttimes publishers place an embargo on the most recent issue(s) of publications, so our subscriptions may not include the most recent year or month, etc. that you're looking for. In our catalog, JaySearch, there will be a line below each database that carries the journal's issues which describe the access range. For example, the line may say "Available from 01/01/2016 until 12/31/2020," which means you will want to request any issue before 2016 or after 2020 through InterLibrary Loan or work with a librarian to help find the journal(s) and/or article(s).