LibraryGuides: Multicultural Health: Databases

Library Databases

The University Libraries subscribes to many research databases and platforms and we have provided a curated a list on this guide. For the comprehensive list of resources, please use the following link for our A-Z Databases list. Helpful hint: this page is bookmarkable!

PsycInfo (APA)
Search articles from more than 1,300 periodicals, as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials, in psychology and related fields, plus books, book chapters, and dissertations (1887-present). Includes a thesaurus feature to suggest productive search terms to guide users to relevant results.
CINAHL Complete
Provides comprehensive coverage of the journal literature (over 650 journals) related to nursing and the allied health disciplines, from 1982 to the present.
eHRAF World Cultures
Includes thousands of books and articles on cultures and ethnic groups worldwide (1949-present).
Embase
A biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic database of journals and records from around the world that includes particularly strong coverage of drug research.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile)
This database explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Provides comprehensive information about behavioral measurement tools, including those related to medicine and nursing, as well as clinical, personality, social, and developmental psychology.
MEDLINE Complete
An authoritative index of biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. It also provides the full text of over 2,500 of the journals in the database.
PolicyMap
A U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform that leverages thousands of data indicators to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis. Users can go from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions for their research and studies.
Scopus
An abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows users to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
SocINDEX with Full Text
This resource is a full-text research database covering sociology and related disciplines. It features hundreds of full-text journals and millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus. Journals covers a broad range of studies, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work. Informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895 are also available.

Resources at Other Institutions

Skin of Color Research Guide | University of Michigan
A majority of people in the world from diverse backgrounds have skin of color. Skin of color is defined in relation to less-pigmented skin. Resources for teaching, learning, research, and clinical practice in all areas of healthcare and their intersection with skin of color are potential topics for inclusion in this guide. Journals (including special issues); tips on scholarly literature searching; skin of color images; reference texts (both ebooks and print); social media accounts and hashtags; professional associations, societies, and conferences; and funding resources are among the topics covered.
The Inclusive Skin Color Project | University of California San Francisco
A joint effort between the School of Medicine's Anti-Oppression Curriculum (AOC) Initiative, the UCSF Library, and the Department of Dermatology to improve the discoverability of resources that represent the full spectrum of skin color. This effort is built on the UCSF Department of Dermatology’s resident quality improvement project, Equity in Teaching Images (EQTI), which aimed to increase representation of diverse skin tones in dermatology didactics through access to high quality diverse images. Providing plentiful examples of conditions in different skin types improves trainees' and physicians’ abilities to accurately identify clinical signs and, consequently, provide excellent patient care.