- All Library Guides
- Research and Resource Guides
- Subject and Course Guides
- Klutznick Law Guides
- Technology Guides
-
Graphic Medicine Manifesto
by
This inaugural volume in the Graphic Medicine series establishes the principles of graphic medicine and begins to map the field. The volume combines scholarly essays by members of the editorial team with previously unpublished visual narratives by Ian Williams and MK Czerwiec, and it includes arresting visual work from a wide range of graphic medicine practitioners. The book's first section, featuring essays by Scott Smith and Susan Squier, argues that as a new area of scholarship, research on graphic medicine has the potential to challenge the conventional boundaries of academic disciplines, raise questions about their foundations, and reinvigorate literary scholarship--and the notion of the literary text--for a broader audience. The second section, incorporating essays by Michael Green and Kimberly Myers, demonstrates that graphic medicine narratives can engage members of the health professions with literary and visual representations and symbolic practices that offer patients, family members, physicians, and other caregivers new ways to experience and work with the complex challenges of the medical experience. The final section, by Ian Williams and MK Czerwiec, focuses on the practice of creating graphic narratives, iconography, drawing as a social practice, and the nature of comics as visual rhetoric. A conclusion (in comics form) testifies to the diverse and growing graphic medicine community. Two valuable bibliographies guide readers to comics and scholarly works relevant to the field.
ISBN: 9780271066493Publication Date: 2015-05-15 -
Graphic Public Health: A Comics Anthology and Road Map
by
As we confront the challenges of emerging diseases, environmental health threats, and gaps in health equity, medical professionals need versatile communication tools that help people make informed decisions and engage them in constructive conversations about the health of their communities. This book illuminates the power of comics to meet that need. Graphic Public Health demonstrates the range and potential of comics to address topics such as immunization promotion, outbreak prevention, gun violence, opioid addiction prevention, and climate change. It features the work of acclaimed cartoonists Ellen Forney, David Lasky, and Roberta Gregory, pieces by up-and-coming artists, and comics that Meredith Li-Vollmer produced as a communications specialist for Seattle's public health department. More than a collection of cartoons, this book connects comics with fundamentals of health communication and discusses why the form can be uniquely effective for these purposes. Each chapter focuses on the use of graphic public health in the context of four specific goals: health literacy, risk communication, health promotion, and advocacy. Li-Vollmer also includes guidance for practitioners getting started in creating comics for any form of public information, and especially for public health. Practical and purposeful, Graphic Public Health is a clarion call for the current era and an invaluable resource for public health professionals and advocates, scholars of comics and graphic studies, and fans of the graphic medicine genre.
ISBN: 9780271093253Publication Date: 2022-06-07 -
Graphic Reproduction : A Comics Anthology
by
This comics anthology delves deeply into the messy and often taboo subject of human reproduction. Featuring work by luminaries such as Carol Tyler, Alison Bechdel, and Joyce Farmer, Graphic Reproduction is an illustrated challenge to dominant cultural narratives about conception, pregnancy, and childbirth.The comics here expose the contradictions, complexities, and confluences around diverse individual experiences of the entire reproductive process, from trying to conceive to child loss and childbirth. Jenell Johnson’s introduction situates comics about reproduction within the growing field of graphic medicine and reveals how they provide a discursive forum in which concepts can be explored and presented as uncertainties rather than as part of a prescribed or expected narrative. Through comics such as Lyn Chevley’s groundbreaking “Abortion Eve,” Bethany Doane’s “Pushing Back: A Home Birth Story,” Leah Hayes’s “Not Funny Ha-Ha,” and “Losing Thomas & Ella: A Father’s Story,” by Marcus B. Weaver-Hightower, the collection explores a myriad of reproductive experiences and perspectives. The result is a provocative, multifaceted portrait of one of the most basic and complicated of all human experiences, one that can be hilarious and heartbreaking.Featuring work by well-known comics artists as well as exciting new voices, this incisive collection is an important and timely resource for understanding how reproduction intersects with sociocultural issues. The afterword and a section of discussion exercises and questions make it a perfect teaching tool.
ISBN: 0271081457Publication Date: 2021 -
Looking at Trauma: A Tool Kit for Clinicians
by
An easy-to-use, engaging resource designed to address the challenges health care professionals face in providing much-needed trauma psychoeducation to clients with histories of childhood trauma. Developed by trauma therapists Abby Hershler and Lesley Hughes in collaboration with artist Patricia Nguyen and biomedical communications specialist Shelley Wall, this book presents twelve trauma treatment models accompanied by innovative and engaging comics. The models help clinicians provide practical information about the impacts of trauma to their clients—and support those clients in understanding and managing their distressing symptoms.Topics covered include complex posttraumatic stress disorder, emotion regulation, memory, relationship patterns, and self-care. Each chapter features step-by-step instructions on how to use the treatment models with clients; practical educational tips from experienced clinicians in the field of childhood trauma; interactive trauma education comics; a foundational framework focused on care for the provider; and references for further study.Intended for use in therapeutic, clinical, and classroom settings, this book is a valuable resource for all healthcare workers. In particular, social workers, psychotherapists, spiritual care providers, nurses, occupational therapists, psychologists, primary care physicians, and psychiatrists will find this tool kit indispensable.
ISBN: 9780271092287Publication Date: 2021 -
Menopause: A Comic Treatment
by
Like so many other issues surrounding women's reproductive health, menopause has been treated as a cultural taboo. On the rare occasions that menopausal and perimenopausal women are depicted in popular culture, they are stereotypically cast as the butt of demeaning jokes that encourage us to laugh at their deteriorating bodies and emotional volatility. The result is that women facing menopause often feel isolated and ashamed. In a spirit of community and support, this collection of comics presents a different view of menopause that enables those experiencing it to be seen and to feel empowered. Balancing levity with sincerity, these comics unapologetically depict menopause and all its attendant symptoms, from hot flashes and vaginal dryness to forgetfulness, social stigma, anxiety, and shame. Created from a variety of perspectives, they represent a range of life experiences, ages, gender identities, ethnicities, and health conditions. The common thread uniting these stories is the affirmation that, while we can and should laugh at ourselves, no one should be ashamed of menopause. The comics in this book encourage us to share our experiences and to support one another, and ourselves, through self-care and community. Featuring works by a host of pioneering and up-and-coming comics artists, Menopause is a perfect foil to the simplistic, cheap-joke approach society at large has taken to this much-derided women's health issue. Readers will revel in the sly humor and universal truths found here. The contributors include Lynda Barry, Maureen Burdock, Jennifer Camper, KC Councilor, MK Czerwiec, Leslie Ewing, Joyce Farmer, Ellen Forney, Ann M. Fox, Keet Geniza, Roberta Gregory, Teva Harrison, Rachael House, Leah Jones, Monica Lalanda, Cathy Leamy, Ajuan Mance, Jessica Moran, Mimi Pond, Sharon Rosenzweig, Joyce Schachter, Susan Merrill Squier, Emily Steinberg, Nicola Streeten, A. K. Summers, Kimiko Tobimatsu, Carol Tyler, Shelley L. Wall, and Dana Walrath.
ISBN: 9780271087122Publication Date: 2020-08-17 -
Patho Graphics : Narrative, Aesthetics, Contention, Community
by
Culturally powerful ideas of normalcy and deviation, individual responsibility, and what is medically feasible shape the ways in which we live with illness and disability. The essays in this volume show how illness narratives expressed in a variety of forms—biographical essays, fictional texts, cartoons, graphic novels, and comics—reflect on and grapple with the fact that these human experiences are socially embedded and culturally shaped. Works of fiction addressing the impact of an illness or disability; autobiographies and memoirs exploring an experience of medical treatment; and comics that portray illness or disability from the perspective of patient, family member, or caregiver: all of these narratives forge a specific aesthetic in order to communicate their understanding of the human condition. This collection demonstrates what can emerge when scholars and artists interested in fiction, life-writing, and comics collaborate to explore how various media portray illness, medical treatment, and disability. Rather than stopping at the limits of genre or medium, the essays talk across fields, exploring together how works in these different forms craft narratives and aesthetics to negotiate contention and build community around those experiences and to discover how the knowledge and experiences of illness and disability circulate within the realms of medicine, art, the personal, and the cultural. Ultimately, they demonstrate a common purpose: to examine the ways comics and literary texts build an audience and galvanize not just empathy but also action
ISBN: 0271087331Publication Date: 2020 -
Taking Turns: Stories From HIV/AIDS Care Unit 371
by
In 1994, at the height of the AIDS epidemic in the United States, MK Czerwiec took her first nursing job, at Illinois Masonic Medical Center in Chicago, as part of the caregiving staff of HIV/AIDS Care Unit 371. Taking Turns pulls back the curtain on life in the ward.A shining example of excellence in the treatment and care of patients, Unit 371 was a community for thousands of patients and families affected by HIV and AIDS and the people who cared for them. This graphic novel combines Czerwiec's memories with the oral histories of patients, family members, and staff. It depicts life and death in the ward, the ways the unit affected and informed those who passed through it, and how many look back on their time there today. Czerwiec joined Unit 371 at a pivotal time in the history of AIDS: deaths from the syndrome in the Midwest peaked in 1995 and then dropped drastically in the following years, with the release of antiretroviral protease inhibitors. This positive turn of events led to a decline in patient populations and, ultimately, to the closure of Unit 371. Czerwiec's restrained, inviting drawing style and carefully considered narrative examine individual, institutional, and community responses to the AIDS epidemic—as well as the role that art can play in the grieving process.Deeply personal yet made up of many voices, this history of daily life in a unique AIDS care unit is an open, honest look at suffering, grief, and hope among a community of medical professionals and patients at the heart of the epidemic.
ISBN: 0271079673Publication Date: 2021-05-26 -
Uncanny bodies : superhero comics and disability
by
Superhero comics reckon with issues of corporeal control. And while they commonly deal in characters of exceptional or superhuman ability, they have also shown an increasing attention and sensitivity to diverse forms of disability, both physical and cognitive. The essays in this collection reveal how the superhero genre, in fusing fantasy with realism, provides a visual forum for engaging with issues of disability and intersectional identity (race, ethnicity, class, gender, and sexuality) and helps to imagine different ways of being in the world.
Working from the premise that the theoretical mode of the uncanny, with its interest in what is simultaneously known and unknown, ordinary and extraordinary, opens new ways to think about categories and markers of identity, Uncanny Bodies explores how continuums of ability in superhero comics can reflect, resist, or reevaluate broader cultural conceptions about disability. The chapters focus on lesser-known characters—such as Echo, Omega the Unknown, and the Silver Scorpion—as well as the famous Barbara Gordon and the protagonist of the acclaimed series Hawkeye, whose superheroic uncanniness provides a counterpoint to constructs of normalcy. Several essays explore how superhero comics can provide a vocabulary and discourse for conceptualizing disability more broadly. Thoughtful and challenging, this eye-opening examination of superhero comics breaks new ground in disability studies and scholarship in popular culture.
Call Number: 2019ISBN: 0271086300 -
Graphic Novels & the Humanity of Mental Illness | Annotated BibliographyA collection of 46 graphic novels that focus on mental illness. Because this is an annotated bibliography, you will also find book summaries, analysis, and recommendations. Created by the Frank Ritchel Ames Memorial Library at Rocky Vista University, funded by the American Library Association.
Browse by Title, which lists the books alphabetically, or Browse by Diagnosis, which sorts the books by mental illness. -
Essential Graphic Medicine: An Annotated BibliographyThis bibliography emerged out of Alice and Matthew’s combined experience with collection management work related to graphic medicine, that is, comics about health, and our shared interest in making this field/genre more accessible to library workers new to the concept. Below you will find more detailed information about the project and our approach, some important caveats, and links to each of the 30 annotations. In addition, you will find a downloadable, printable PDF version of the full set of annotations. Funded by an American Library Association Carnegie-Whitney Grant
Health Humanities
Foundational resources for the health humanities.
Librarian
Karina Kletscher, MLIS, AHIP
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
Health Sciences Library - Phoenix
3110 N Central Ave
Suite 220
Phoenix, AZ 85012
3110 N Central Ave
Suite 220
Phoenix, AZ 85012
602.812.4610
Website
Searching for Comics & Graphic Novels
JaySearch Tips: Searching by Subject
This page includes a curated list of graphic medicine and adjacent titles available in our collections. If you're interested in other titles, you can search our catalog, JaySearch, using "Subjects." In JaySearch, under Advance Search, change the search filter from the "Title" default to "Subject." Use the "Resource Type" limiter on the lefthand side to limit to articles for more scholarly information, reviews for book reviews, or books if you're looking to read a specific comic or graphic novel or monograph about comics and graphic novels studies.
If we don't carry a print or electronic title, be sure to try requesting via InterLibrary Loan or work with a librarian to help find what you're looking for.
Use the link(s) below to browse materials by indicated subject that the University Libraries has access to.
Comics & Graphic Novels at Creighton (Selected)
Bibliographies & Other Curated Lists
Libraries and Organizations
JAMA Arts and Medicine
Michael J. Green, MD, Professor, Department of Humanities, Penn State College of Medicine, publishes an annual review in the Arts and Medicine column of the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA).
Green, M.J. (2020). Graphic medicine—The best of 2020. JAMA, 324(24), 2469–2471. https://creighton.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01CRU_INST/55ql43/cdi_openaire_primary_doi_dedup_5e7a2987f8a941a504a00bdac3537812
Green, M.J. (2021). Graphic medicine—The best of 2021. JAMA, 326(24), 2453–2455. https://creighton.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01CRU_INST/55ql43/cdi_openaire_primary_doi_dedup_3ce79663de73fadcc92128fb2081845d
Green, M.J. (2022). Graphic medicine—The best of 2022. JAMA, 328(24):2379–2380. https://creighton.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01CRU_INST/55ql43/cdi_openaire_primary_doi_dedup_627354dae31c17c5e2ec68e554b6b54d
Green, M. J., & Wolf, K. (2023). Best of Graphic Medicine—The 2023 Graphic Medicine International Collective Awards. JAMA : The Journal of the American Medical Association, 330(24), 2323–2325. https://creighton.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01CRU_INST/55ql43/cdi_proquest_miscellaneous_2897485827