LibraryGuides: Encyclopedias &amp; Reference: Films & Video

Find Videos

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Streaming video collections from Alexander Street Press in a range of disciplines in the arts, social sciences, science, and business.
Films On Demand
A streaming platform for videos on a full range of academic subjects.
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments )
A peer-reviewed journal devoted to the publication of biological and medical research in video format. These video-articles visualize experiments and experimental techniques in university laboratories in the fields of biology, medicine, and neuroscience.
Kanopy
A video streaming platform with a broad selection of streaming video titles for educational purposes, including documentaries, independent and foreign films, classics, and feature films.

AP Archive
Video archive of the Associated Press and British Movietone, with historical footage since 1895.
Frontline Documentaries
A large collection of free-to-view PBS documentaries on current events.
Hulu Premium
Primarily TV, with some feature films and documentaries.
Internet Archive: Cultural and Academic Films
Hosts dozens of thematic collections and documentaries from a variety of reputable institutions.
National Film Board of Canada
Offers independent, documentary, foreign, educational, feature and avant garde films.
National Geographic TV
National Geographic programming plus documentaries and specials.
Open Vault (WGBH)
Historical radio and television from the WGBH Media Library and archives, the largest producer of public media in the United States.
PBS Video
Source for educational, instructional, docementary, music, news, PBS kids, and theater.
Snag Films
Features documentaries and art house, independent, music, and other films.
Yovisto Academic Video Search
Search engine for free educational videos, primarily class lectures. Some content in German.

Alexander Street Press
Award-winning interdisciplinary documentaries, independent non-fiction, and other educational DVDs and digital videos available for lease or purchase.
Collective Eye
Educational film distribution company with a focus on culture, the humanities, and social sciences, for DVD and digital content.
Media Education Foundation
"Educational videos about media, culture, and society for the classroom." DVDs only.
New Day Digital
Source for a select number of award-winning, independent documentaries in digital format.