LibraryGuides: Theology: Databases

What is a Database?

Research tools that help you find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, or other information sources like books, videos, and maps.
Some focus on a kind of source (like newspaper articles); most of ours focus on scholarly research in a specific academic field.

(Ruth Szpunar at DePauw University)

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS
Articles from hundreds of religion and theology journals, dissertations, and proceedings (1949-present), as well as material from the Catholic Periodical Literature Index.
JSTOR

Archive of 2,400 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and business. Narrow results by discipline(s).
New Testament Abstracts
This database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to New Testament studies. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology, and much more.
Old Testament Abstracts
This database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology, and much more.

Academic Search Premier

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.
CINAHL Complete

Provides comprehensive coverage of the journal literature (over 650 journals) related to nursing and the allied health disciplines, from 1982 to the present.

Directory of Catholic Newspapers Online
Compiled by the Catholic Research Resources Alliance to provide access to all extant Catholic newspapers in North America.
https://www.catholicresearch.org/directory-of-catholic-newspapers-online

Humanities International Index

This database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities from around the world.
Iter Bibliography

Bibliographies of secondary and primary materials related to the period of 400-1700 CE, as well as several journals and an international directory of scholars.
MEDLINE Complete

An authoritative index of biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. It also provides the full text of over 2,500 of the journals in the database.

National Catholic Reporter
NCR is a religious news source with worldly interests. Its reporting deals with issues of the Catholic Church, as well as the religious, political and social forces shaping public policies and institutions. NCR is concerned for all people and is committed to shaping a world that recognizes the dignity of every human being, regardless of religious belief, gender, race, ethnicity, sexual orientation or other characteristic.

Project MUSE

Provides access to the full-text of several scholarly journals and books from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Much of the journal content focuses on the humanities, arts, and social sciences (mid-1990s to present), plus recent books on global studies and literature.
SPORTDiscus

A database covering sports and sports medicine journals. Subjects covered include biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health and therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports and exercise psychology, coaching and education and sports medicine.