LibraryGuides: Physics: Databases

What is a Database?

Research tools that help you find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, or other information sources like books, videos, and maps.
Some focus on a kind of source (like newspaper articles); most of ours focus on scholarly research in a specific academic field.

(Ruth Szpunar at DePauw University)

inSPIRE
A High-Energy Physics Literature Database. INSPIRE combines the successful SPIRES database content with the Invenio digital library technology developed at CERN.

PubMed.gov
Indexes biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. From off campus, enter PubMed via the library website for Creighton linkouts.

SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 10.0 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints.
SCOAP³
The Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics is an open access intiative starting January 2014.
arXiv
Open archive for electronic pre-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics.

Science
Journal articles and news from various fields of science.
Energy Citations Database
Articles from energy and energy-related journals, plus other publications provided by the U.S. Department of Energy (1943-present).
http://www.osti.gov/energycitations/

Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA)
The complete archive consists of all of Physical Review back to 1893, all of Physical Review Letters back to 1958, and all of Reviews of Modern Physics back to 1929.
ScienceDirect
Search through journals, books, reference works, and images for the physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.
Google Scholar
A simple way to search scholarly materials on the open web. To view links directly to CU Libraries' resources when searching Google Scholar, be sure to make us your library. You can do this by navigating to the menu at the top left > Settings > Library links > add Creighton University.