Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Newbery Medal List

Every Newbery Medal winner since 1922.


The Newbery Medal

Newbery Medal. (c) American Library Association

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. Founded in 1922, it is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children published the previous year. It, alongside the Caldecott Medal, are the two most prestigious awards for children's literature in the United States.