LibraryGuides: Journalism Subject Guide: Databases

Recommended Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 620 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 820 titles, 500 of which are full text from 1900s-present.
Access World News

Current and historical news articles from local, regional, national, and international newspapers, including the Omaha World-Herald and the Omaha Star.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)

This resource provides authoritative articles, research reports, videos, and statistics to help demonstrate both sides of today’s most debated political and social issues.
Academic Search Premier

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.
The Times Digital Archive

A searchable, full-text, online database of more than 200 years of The Times (London, England), with every page of every issue from 1785 through 2012. Covers local events in Britain and international events in India, China, South Africa, and the Americas.
Nexis Uni

This resource has news from sources from the U.S. and around the world, as well as company profiles, financials, and legal source documents.
New York Times (NYTimes.com)

Complementary access to the New York Times dating back to 1851, with videos and special features.

Must register for a free account using your Creighton email address at this URL: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/creighton.edu?url=https://ezmyaccount.nytimes.com/grouppass/redir

Open newspaper databases

Independent Voices
From the website: "Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century."
NewsLibrary
From the website: "7380 newspapers and other news sources make NewsLibrary.com the ideal tool for news research. The most complete archive available for each publication is included."

Why should I use the Creighton Databases?

What is a Database?

Research tools that help you find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, or other information sources like books, videos, and maps.
Some focus on a kind of source (like newspaper articles); most of ours focus on scholarly research in a specific academic field.

(Ruth Szpunar at DePauw University)