LibraryGuides: Classical Studies: Databases

Recommended Databases

JSTOR

Archive of 2,400 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and business. Narrow results by discipline(s).
L'Année Philologique

A bibliography for articles and books that cover all aspects of the ancient Greek and Roman world in a broad range of subjects from language and literature to history, archaeology and more (1949-present).
Humanities International Index

This database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities from around the world.
Project MUSE

Provides access to the full-text of several scholarly journals and books from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Much of the journal content focuses on the humanities, arts, and social sciences (mid-1990s to present), plus recent books on global studies and literature.

Academic Search Premier

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.

Aufstieg und Niedergang der römischen Welt
Online index to the German-language volumes on the rise and fall of the Roman world, shelved on the upper level under call number DG 209 T36.
http://www.cs.uky.edu/~raphael/scaife/anrw.html
Bryn Mawr Classical Review
Book reviews for classical studies available in full text (1990-present).
http://ccat.sas.upenn.edu/bmcr/archive.html
Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists (TOCS-IN)
Tables of contents for almost 200 journals in classics, Near Eastern studies, and religion (1992-present), with a small number of articles in full text. http://www.epas.utoronto.ca/amphoras/tocs.html

Research tools that help you find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, or other information sources like books, videos, and maps.
Some focus on a kind of source (like newspaper articles); most of ours focus on scholarly research in a specific academic field.

(Ruth Szpunar at DePauw University)