LibraryGuides: Executive Healthcare MBA (EMBA): Leadership Literature

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

The electronic encyclopedias and handbooks listed here provide background information on topics and issues relating to business including, but not limited to management, strategic planning, leadership, statistics, and innovation.

21st Century Nursing Leadership by Mary Magee Gullatte; Oncology Nursing Society Staff (Contribution by)
Publication Date: 2018
Complexity Leadership by Diana M. Crowell
Call Number: WY 105 C737 2011

ISBN: 0803622333

Publication Date: 2010-12-06
Encyclopedia of Operations Research and Management Science by Saul I. Gass (Editor); Michael C. Fu (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014

This encyclopedia provides decision-makers in Operations Research with a comprehensive overview of the range of ideas and forces that combine in OR/MS. New topics for the third edition, include yield management, flexible queuing systems, service management, local search, tolerance sensitivity analysis, influence diagrams, knowledge management, strategy and policy making, school districting, computational biology.
Essential Leadership Skills for Health Sciences Information Professionals by Crum, Janet A., editor; Nuñez, Annabelle Villaescusa, editor. Effective leadership and management are essential to a successful, thriving health sciences library, yet often librarians are promoted into leadership roles with little to no training and support. Then, swamped with the demands of their new positions, they struggle to find time to read multiple books on a leadership topic or attend long (and expensive) leadership training programs. Essential Leadership Skills for Health Sciences Information Professionals is intended to help fill that gap by making the accumulated wisdom of experienced leaders available in a concise, easy-to-digest format. Each chapter is written by an experienced library leader and provides essential background and practical, actionable advice on eleven essential leadership topics: the health sciences library environment; building relationships and engaging stakeholders; setting direction; building and leading the team; engaging your staff; leading with a focus on diversity, equity, and inclusion; planning and managing projects; managing change; decision-making and problem-solving; crisis leadership; and managing and taking care of yourself. Busy leaders and aspiring leaders can learn essential information about a leadership topic quickly, then explore cited and recommended resources as needed to build deeper expertise. While examples are focused on the unique needs and environments of health sciences libraries, much of the material will be useful to leaders in all types of libraries.
ISBN: 9781538168240

Publication Date: 2023
Leadership in Interprofessional Health Education and Practice by Gail M. Jensen; Charlotte Brasic Royeen; Robin Ann Harvan
Call Number: Health Sciences Library WA18 L434 2009

ISBN: 9780763749835

Publication Date: 2008-11-13
The SAGE Handbook of Leadership by Doris Schedlitzki (Editor); Magnus Larsson (Editor); Brigid Carroll (Editor); Michelle C. Bligh (Editor); Olga Epitropaki (Editor)
ISBN: 9781529769067

Publication Date: 2023-04-03

The Second Edition of The SAGE Handbook of Leadership provides not only an in-depth overview the current field of leadership studies, but also a map into the future debates, innovations and priorities of where the field will move to. Featuring all new chapters from a global community of leading and emerging scholars, each chapter offers a comprehensive, critical overview of an aspect of leadership, a discussion of key debates and research, and a review of the emerging issues in its area. Featuring an innovative structure divided by prepositions, this brand-new edition moves away from essentializing boundaries, and instead seeks to create synergies between different schools of leadership. A key feature of the second edition, is the attention to sensemaking (exploring the current themes, structures and ideas that comprise each topic) and sensebreaking (disrupting, critiquing and refreshing each topic). Suitable for students and researchers alike, this second edition is a critical site of reference for the study of leadership. PART 1: Between: Leadership as a Social, Socio-cognitive and Practical Phenomenon PART 2: About: Exploring the Individual and Interpersonal Facets of Leadership PART 3: Through: Leadership Seen Through Contemporary Frames PART 4: Within: Leadership as a Contextually Bound Phenomenon PART 5: But: A Critical Examination of Leadership