Finding Primary Sources

A large collection of documents in law, history, and diplomacy. A small number are from ancient Europe and the Near East.

An online repository of pre-modern Chinese texts. Many are translated into English, but some are untranslated.

Very large browsable database of Neo-sumerian texts, seals, and tablets, every entry has a scanned image. Many are not translated.

Fully digitized manuscripts held by the British Library going back to 0 CE.

Large collection of digitized papyri from ancient Egypt. Most items in the collection are cataloged by subject and translated. Some are not.

Online archive of classical Greco-Roman works (some chinese and near-eastern works as well)

Internet Archive of electronic texts on religion, mythology, and folklore. Texts are presented in English translation and, where possible, in the original language.

Searchable collection of Material Culture maintained by the California Academy of Sciences Department of Anthropology.

Includes primary and secondary sources on the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world, including Philosophy.
http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/hopper/home

An online text-searchable database of Babylonian, Assyrian, and Akkadian Literature from 2400-1100 BCE.

A large collection of translations of sources written before 600 CE, sometimes with more than one translation of the same source.

Significant primary materials that represent the culture of countries around the world. Sponsored by UNESCO and the Library of Congress. Contains international materials from 8000 BCE to the present.