LibraryGuides: DBA Program Guide: Research and Citation

The Literature Review

"Literature Review"
This entry from the Encyclopedia of Research Design outlines the purpose, types, and standards for literature reviews.
"Scholars Before Researchers"
Boote, D. N., & Beile, P. (2005). Scholars before researchers: On the centrality of the dissertation literature review in research preparation. Educational Researcher, 34(6), 3-15.

Citing Your Sources

You must cite your source when you quote or paraphrase another author's work. Papers are to be prepared following the American Psychological Association (APA) guidelines.

Quick Guide to APA (7th edition)

RefWorks
by Creighton University Libraries Last Updated Feb 2, 2024 1516 views this year

SmartThinking: Online Writing Center
Purdue OWL
The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University provides extensive support for research, writing, and citation.

Reviews and Research Methods

Annual Reviews
A collection of critical reviews of primary research literature in over 50 disciplines in the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences. Each review is written by an expert in their field and it includes numerous references to recent journal literature.

Little Blue Books
Print series on "Qualitative Methods in the Social Sciences" from Sage Publications. Call numbers vary (30+ titles).

Research Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Case Study Research
Albert J. Mills & Gabrielle Durepos & Elden Wiebe (SAGE Publications, 2009)
Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics
Neil J. Salkind (SAGE Publications, 2007)
Encyclopedia of Research Design
Neil J. Salkind (SAGE Publications, 2010)
Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods
Michael S. Lewis-Beck & Alan Bryman & Tim Futing Liao (SAGE Publications, 2004)
Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods
Paul J. Lavrakas (SAGE Publications, 2008)

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods by Lisa M. Given (Editor) Qualitative research is designed to explore the human elements of a given topic, while specific qualitative methods examine how individuals see and experience the world. Qualitative approaches are typically used to explore new phenomena and to capture individuals' thoughts, feelings, or interpretations of meaning and process. Such methods are central to research conducted in education, nursing, sociology, anthropology, information studies, and other disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and health sciences. Qualitative research projects are informed by a wide range of methodologies and theoretical frameworks. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods presents current and complete information as well as ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative research in a very accessible style. In taking an interdisciplinary approach, these two volumes target a broad audience and fill a gap in the existing reference literature for a general guide to the core concepts that inform qualitative research practices. The entries cover every major facet of qualitative methods, including access to research participants, data coding, research ethics, the role of theory in qualitative research, and much more--all without overwhelming the informed reader. Key Features Defines and explains core concepts, describes the techniques involved in the implementation of qualitative methods, and presents an overview of qualitative approaches to research Offers many entries that point to substantive debates among qualitative researchers regarding how concepts are labeled and the implications of such labels for how qualitative research is valued Guides readers through the complex landscape of the language of qualitative inquiry Includes contributors from various countries and disciplines that reflect a diverse spectrum of research approaches from more traditional, positivist approaches, through postmodern, constructionist ones Presents some entries written in first-person voice and others in third-person voice to reflect the diversity of approaches that define qualitative work Key Themes Approaches and Methodologies Arts-Based Research, Ties to Computer Software Data Analysis Data Collection Data Types and Characteristics Dissemination History of Qualitative Research Participants Quantitative Research, Ties to Research Ethics Rigor Textual Analysis, Ties to Theoretical and Philosophical Frameworks The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods is designed to appeal to undergraduate and graduate students, practitioners, researchers, consultants, and consumers of information across the social sciences, humanities, and health sciences, making it a welcome addition to any academic or public library.
ISBN: 9781412941631
Publication Date: 2008-08-21