LibraryGuides: Occupational Therapy: Databases

What is a Database?

Research tools that help you find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, or other information sources like books, videos, and maps.
Some focus on a kind of source (like newspaper articles); most of ours focus on scholarly research in a specific academic field.

(Ruth Szpunar at DePauw University)

CINAHL Complete
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 2.3 million records dating back to 1981.
MEDLINE Complete
Use the link above to view the various options and interfaces for searching Medline.
Embase

A biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic database of journals and records from around the world that includes particularly strong coverage of drug research.
Scopus

An abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows users to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
DITKI: Neuroanatomy

One draws each neuroanatomical pathway and structure, and in the process, creates memorable and reproducible schematics for the various learning points in neuroanatomy.

To register, click "Institutional registration" in the top right. Please choose Creighton University and enter your Creighton email. Your access will start once you click on the link in the verification email.

Clinical Trials (ClinicalTrials.gov)
A registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.

PsycInfo (APA)
Articles from several thousand journals in psychology and related fields, plus books, book chapters, and dissertations (1887-present).

ERIC
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
OTSeeker
O*NET
A database of occupation descriptions and statistics from U.S. Department of Labor

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups.

Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print
Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.

SPORTDiscus
provides comprehensive coverage of sport, fitness, and related disciplines.