LibraryGuides: Nursing: Databases

Biomedical and Allied Health

AccessMedicine
AccessPharmacy
Has good review, study tools,texts and other self-test questions.

AccessPhysiotherapy
This resource includes multimedia and ebooks on related topics include neuro anatomy, therapies, muscular & skeletal issues.
APA PsycInfo
Search articles from more than 1,300 periodicals, as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials, in psychology and related fields, plus books, book chapters, and dissertations (1887-present). Includes a thesaurus feature to suggest productive search terms to guide users to relevant results.
CINAHL Complete
Provides comprehensive coverage of the journal literature (over 650 journals) related to nursing and the allied health disciplines, from 1982 to the present.

Clinical Trials (ClinicalTrials.gov)
A registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
Health Science Library CINAHL Tutorial

ClinicalKey
Contains Elsevier's medical and surgical content in one interface with access to over 1100 books, over 500 journals, thousands of videos and millions of images.
Embase
A biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic database of journals and records from around the world that includes particularly strong coverage of drug research.
MEDLINE Complete
An authoritative index of biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. It also provides the full text of over 2,500 of the journals in the database.

MeSH
The NLM controlled vocabulary thesaurus used for indexing articles for PubMed.

PubMed.gov
Indexes biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. From off campus, enter PubMed via the library website for Creighton linkouts.
ScienceDirect
Search through journals, books, reference works, and images for the physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Scopus
An abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows users to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.

Trip Database
Tool to help search for high-quality clinical research evidence information
more...less...
Has an advance and PICO search options.

TDS Health
Has e-book versions helpful drug handbooks and calculators for nursing and pharmacy along with Stedman's Medical Dictionary.

Cochrane Library
A collection of evidence-based clinical information for healthcare providers. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes systemic reviews, protocols, editorials, and supplements. Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials is a directory of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials found in scholarly literature. Cochrane Clinical Answers includes clinical questions, a short answer, and data drawn from reviews that allow clinicians to quickly obtain evidence-based information to use in point-of-care decision-making.
DynaMed
*Requires registration with Creighton email address. An app is available for download.
A clinical reference tool integrating evidence-based medicine with practical information for clinical practice on more than 3,200 clinical topics. It is designed for physicians, nurses, and other health professionals. This resources also offers Maintenance of Certification, AMA, AAFP, and AANP credits.

ECRI Guideline Trust
The ECRI Guidelines Trust® is a publicly available online repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. Its purpose is to provide physicians, nurses, other healthcare providers and professionals, and members of the healthcare community with current clinical practices to advance safe and effective patient care globally. This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally and internationally recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies.

Cochrane Library
A collection of evidence-based clinical information for healthcare providers. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes systemic reviews, protocols, editorials, and supplements. Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials is a directory of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials found in scholarly literature. Cochrane Clinical Answers includes clinical questions, a short answer, and data drawn from reviews that allow clinicians to quickly obtain evidence-based information to use in point-of-care decision-making.
Google Scholar
A simple way to search scholarly materials on the open web. To view links directly to CU Libraries' resources when searching Google Scholar, be sure to make us your library. You can do this by navigating to the menu at the top left > Settings > Library links > add Creighton University.
Scopus
An abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows users to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.

FirstSearch
Search WorldCat, the "world catalog" of books and other items from thousands of member libraries worldwide, including the CU Libraries. Compare to WorldCat.org.
PolicyMap
A U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform that leverages thousands of data indicators to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis. Users can go from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions for their research and studies.

APA PsycInfo
Search articles from more than 1,300 periodicals, as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials, in psychology and related fields, plus books, book chapters, and dissertations (1887-present). Includes a thesaurus feature to suggest productive search terms to guide users to relevant results.
Education Source
A database of education journals and other sources for early childhood through higher education (1929-present).

ERIC
Database produced by the U.S. Dept. of Education that contains records for articles, reports, and other information impacting all areas of education.

Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Indexes articles relating to health and behavior with a special emphasis on instruments in these areas. .

Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print
Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.