Senior Librarian
Reinert-Alumni Library
Ste. 204/ Rm. 210
2500 California Plaza
Omaha, NE 68178
What is a Database?
- Research tools that help you find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, or other information sources like books, videos, and maps.
- Some focus on a kind of source (like newspaper articles); most of ours focus on scholarly research in a specific academic field.
(Ruth Szpunar at DePauw University)
Why should I use the Creighton Databases?
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.
- Business Source CompleteA database of citations to, summaries of, and full text of articles from academic journals, magazines, and trade publications about business-related topics--dating back to 1886. Also included are current company, industry and region reports.
- Education SourceA database of education journals and other sources for early childhood through higher education (1929-present).
- ERIC
Includes journal articles and documents in the field of education (pre-1966 to present).
- PsycArticles (APA)
A source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and other related organizations. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal (coverage spans 1894 to present).
- PsycInfo (APA)
Search articles from more than 1,300 periodicals, as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials, in psychology and related fields, plus books, book chapters, and dissertations (1887-present). Includes a thesaurus feature to suggest productive search terms to guide users to relevant results.
- Scopus
An abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows users to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Health Sciences Databases
- CINAHL Complete
Provides comprehensive coverage of the journal literature (over 650 journals) related to nursing and the allied health disciplines, from 1982 to the present.
- MEDLINE Complete
An authoritative index of biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. It also provides the full text of over 2,500 of the journals in the database.