LibraryGuides: Spanish: Databases

What is a Database?

Research tools that help you find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, or other information sources like books, videos, and maps.
Some focus on a kind of source (like newspaper articles); most of ours focus on scholarly research in a specific academic field.

(Ruth Szpunar at DePauw University)

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.
Historical Abstracts
A bibliographic database containing citations to scholarly articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), as well as the key historical journals from virtually every major country.

HLAS Online
Handbook of Latin American Studies is a bibliography of books and articles in the social sciences and humanities (1935-present). Citations only.

Humanities International Index
This database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities from around the world.
Iter Bibliography
Bibliographies of secondary and primary materials related to the period of 400-1700 CE, as well as several journals and an international directory of scholars.
JSTOR
Archive of 2,400 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and business. Narrow results by discipline(s).
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Articles from several thousand journals in literature, linguistics, and folklore, plus books and dissertations (Modern Language Association, 1926-present).
Project MUSE
Provides access to the full-text of several scholarly journals and books from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Much of the journal content focuses on the humanities, arts, and social sciences (mid-1990s to present), plus recent books on global studies and literature.