LibraryGuides: Theology: Books &amp; eBooks

JaySearch

JaySearch is the CU Libraries' search engine for books, articles, and more:
	Advanced Search

Library Books & eBooks

Our books are shelved according to the Library of Congress Classification System. Log-in to your University Libraries account for several options while searching including placing holds, saving citations, and sending items you find via email.

FirstSearch
Collection of 13 databases, including WorldCat, ERIC and the GPO Monthly Catalog. Citations only.
ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1
Sources in Greek, Hebrew, and other biblical languages besides English documenting the recovery of languages used during the biblical era and provides an in-depth view of the way that interest in, and knowledge of, biblical languages emerged during the nineteenth century, an important foundation for today’s study and understanding of biblical languages (13th century to 1893).
ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2
Sources documenting religion in America at the turn of the century (1894-1923). Subjects addressed include the conflict between religion and science, the growing interest in Eastern religions and other world religions, and significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans.

Cambridge Companion to the Jesuits
Examines the religious and cultural significance of the Jesuits. The first four sections treat the period prior to the Suppression and section five examines the Suppression to the present.

Cambridge Companions
A series of authoritative guides and critical essays on topics and periods related to literature and classics, music, philosophy, religion, and culture.

The Catholic Portal
The Catholic Research Resources Alliance. The Catholic Portal provides free access to rare, unique and/or uncommon materials in libraries, seminaries, special collections and archives. The CRRA has identified twelve primary themes of interest and importance on significant aspects of the Catholic tradition, including social action, education, Vatican II, Men’s and Women’s religious orders and missions.
https://www.catholicresearch.org/catholic-portal

Reference & Encyclopedia Sources

Augustine through the Ages by Allan D. Fitzgerald (Editor)
Call Number: B655 Z69 A84 1999
ISBN: 9780802838438
Publication Date: 1999-06-01
Fitzgerald (patristics, Augustinian Patristic Institute, Rome, and editor of Augustinian Studies for Villanova U.) presents an encyclopedic treatment of the life, thought, and influence of arguably the most influential Western Christian thinker after the apostles, Augustine of Hippo (AD 354-430). In

Encyclopedia of Religion
Scholarly entries on historical eras, religious traditions, doctrines, and practices across cultures (2nd edition).

Gale eBooks
Encyclopedias from the following collections can be searched in this resource: Arts, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Religion, Science, Social Science, and Technology.

New Catholic Encyclopedia
Scholarly entries on the doctrine, organization, history, persons, and culture of the Catholic Church (2nd edition).

Oxford Reference
A searchable database of over 100 dictionaries, encyclopedias, and companions for many subject areas, especially the humanities, but also social sciences, sciences, and business.

Religion Past and Present - Set Volumes 1-14 by Eberhard Jüngel; Hans Dieter Betz; Don Browning; Bernd Janowski; Eberhard Jüngel
Call Number: BL 31 R4213 2007
ISBN: 9789004146662
Publication Date: 2014-02-03
Religion Past and Present is the English version of the 4th edition of Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart (RGG), the highly respected, authoritative encyclopedia of Christian theology, biblical studies and religious studies. Taking into account the latest research developments, Religion Past and Present offers a wide-ranging and multi-denominational approach to all aspects of the study of religion. Key Features - Standard reference work in the field since the publication of its first edition in 1908 - Strongly international, cross-cultural and ecumenical: over 3,000 authors from 88 countries - Covers an unparalleled breadth of subject matter in theological and biblical studies - Up-to-date research findings and bibliographies make it an indispensable resource for all levels of users - Interdisciplinary: articles cover a wide range of topics from history, archaeology, liturgy, law, bible, music, visual arts, politics, social sciences, natural sciences, ethics, and philosophy - Short definitions and cross-references make for quick and easy searching - Over 15,000 entries: 8 million words - Thirteen volumes plus index RGG and RPP are also available online. For more information visit www.brillonline.nl .