FY23 University Libraries Collections

The University Libraries team would like to invite all faculty to participate in our FY23 collections decision-making process. Through this process, we will receive and review your feedback on a list of proposed discontinuations. In addition, we will also be receiving recommendations for new resources to add to the collection.  We plan to continue this process annually moving forward to encourage faculty involvement in the Libraries' decision-making process.

After reviewing faculty feedback, the following will be cancelled as of July 1, 2022.

• Bible In English
• Books Review Digest Plus
  • This database will be cancelled as of January 1, 2023.
• MagillOnLiterature Plus
• Oxford American National Biography
• Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
• Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests In Print
  • We will continue to purchase this resource in print on an annual basis.

Thanks to faculty feedback, we will be continuing our subscriptions for the following. We encourage faculty to share these resources with their students and utilize them in their courses to be sure the library makes its investment worthwhile.

• BioOne Complete 
• MathSciNet

When considering resources for cancellation, data is collected to determine overall use and cost per use to investigate underutilized content or content that may be obtained more affordably through an alternate route. This data is a starting place for considering resources for discontinuation, to which input from liaison librarians and faculty is added.

The University Libraries review resources annually to maintain collections responsive to campus teaching and research needs while stewarding financial resources. Annual journal and database increases continue to outpace increases to the collections budget, driving cancellations of resources.