Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scholarly Journals & Peer Review
Journals are especially important to scholars because they communicate new research and discoveries within the discipline.
Many of the best journals are peer reviewed, which means they have been rigorously assessed by experts in the field and deemed to be of high quality. Many databases allow users to limit retrieval only to peer reviewed journal article.
Although most journal databases include much full-text, it is possible to identify an article for which full-text is not immediately available. The library can get these articles for you at no cost to you via our Interlibrary loan service. Go the the library's Interlibrary loan page and click on Request an Article.
Philosopher's Index with Full Text
Articles from hundreds of international journals in philosophy and related fields, plus books and book chapters (1940-present).
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS
Articles from hundreds of journals in theology plus books, dissertations, and proceedings (1949-present). Also combines material from the Catholic Periodical Literature Index.
Archive of 2,400 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and business. Narrow results by discipline(s).
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Articles from several thousand journals in literature, linguistics, and folklore, plus books and dissertations (Modern Language Association, 1926-present).
Academic Search Premier
Articles from thousands of magazines and journals in many different subjects (1880s-present).
Subjects: Classical Studies
, Country Information
, Fine & Performing Arts
, Government Information
, Journalism & Computing
, Modern Languages
, Modern Literatures
, Pastoral Care