LibraryGuides: Physician Assistant/Associate: Textbooks

Anatomy

Grant's dissector, 17e by Alan J. Detton "Grant's Dissector provides step-by-step human cadaver dissection procedures for students to perform the dissections in lab and to recognize important relationships revealed through dissection. Each chapter is consistently organized beginning with a Dissection Overview, followed by detailed Dissection Instructions, and concluding with a Dissection Follow-up. The Dissection Overview provides a blueprint of what needs to be accomplished during the dissection session, and includes relevant surface anatomy as well as concise coverage of osteology. Dissection Instructions offer a logical sequence and numbered steps for the dissection. The Dissection Follow-up emphasizes important features of the dissection and encourages students to reflect on and synthesize the information
ISBN: 9781975134655
Publication Date: 2021
Moore's clinically oriented anatomy, 9e by Keith L Moore author. A. M. R. Agur author.; Arthur F. Dalley II, author. "Clinically Oriented Anatomy is widely acclaimed for its comprehensive and well-written, "story-telling" text, accurate and detailed illustrations, and the relevance of its clinical correlations ("blue boxes"). The textbook serves as a complete reference and places clinical emphasis on anatomy that is important in physical diagnosis for primary care, interpretation of diagnostic imaging, and understanding the anatomical basis of emergency medicine and general surgery. This textbook is popular in a variety of programs, including medical, physician assistant, physical therapy, occupational therapy, graduate biology/anatomy, and exercise science"
ISBN: 9781975154127
Publication Date: 2023
Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy, 8e by Frank H. Netter For students and clinical professionals who are learning anatomy, participating in a dissection lab, sharing anatomy knowledge with patients, or refreshing their anatomy knowledge, the Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy illustrates the body, region by region, in clear, brilliant detail from a clinician's perspective. Unique among anatomy atlases, it contains illustrations that emphasize anatomic relationships that are most important to the clinician in training and practice. Illustrated by clinicians, for clinicians, it contains more than 550 exquisite plates plus dozens of carefully selected radiologic images for common views. Presents world-renowned, superbly clear views of the human body from a clinical perspective, with paintings by Dr. Frank Netter as well as Dr. Carlos A. G. Machado, one of today's foremost medical illustrators. Content guided by expert anatomists and educators: R. Shane Tubbs, Paul E. Neumann, Jennifer K. Brueckner-Collins, Martha Johnson Gdowski, Virginia T. Lyons, Peter J. Ward, Todd M. Hoagland, Brion Benninger, and an international Advisory Board. Offers region-by-region coverage, including muscle table appendices at the end of each section and quick reference notes on structures with high clinical significance in common clinical scenarios. Contains new illustrations by Dr. Machado including clinically important areas such as the pelvic cavity, temporal and infratemporal fossae, nasal turbinates, and more. Features new nerve tables devoted to the cranial nerves and the nerves of the cervical, brachial, and lumbosacral plexuses. Uses updated terminology based on the second edition of the international anatomic standard, Terminologia Anatomica, and includes common clinically used eponyms. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Provides access to extensive digital content: every plate in the Atlas?and over 100 bonus plates including illustrations from previous editions?is enhanced with an interactive label quiz option and supplemented with "Plate Pearls" that provide quick key points of the major themes of each plate. Digital content also includes over 300 multiple choice questions and other learning tools. Also available, alternative versions of the 8th Edition: . Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy: A Systems Approach-Same content as the classic regional approach, but organized by organ systems. . Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy: Classic Regional Approach-hardback Professional Edition with downloadable image bank for personal use. . Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy: Classic Regional Approach with Latin terminology
ISBN: 9780323680424
Publication Date: 2023
Stedman's Medical Dictionary by Stedman's Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! A must-have medical reference resource!   Stedman's Medical Dictionary, 28th Edition, is the most reliable resource available for healthcare professionals, including medical students, physicians, educators, researchers, and medical language specialists. More than 45 consultants from all the major medical and health science specialties have reviewed each word for accuracy and clarity, including new consultants for the specialties of endocrinology, gastroenterology, geriatrics, and rheumatology. Includes more than 107,000 terms and definitions. Approximately 1500 color illustrations, photographs, and tables expand and clarify the meanings of the dictionary terms and help the user develop a better understanding of the terms. Suffixes, prefixes, and combining forms - the 'building blocks' of medical language - are marked with an icon to aid in the user learning these terms. Terminologia Anatomica utilized for Gross Anatomy and Neuroanatomy as sanctioned by the Federative Committee on Anatomical Terminology. Easy-to-find subentries are included on their own line for easier readability. Useful cross-references highlighted in blue refer the user to a preferred synonym. Precision cut thumb tabs help readers easily search for terms  Also included with purchase is a free 3-month subscription to Stedman's Online, which includes all the content from the print dictionary and more- Superior keyword search functionality making accuracy instantaneous Access to more than 5,600 images illustrating key medical terms and concepts Customize the product using My Stedman's: add terms, add notes to terms, save searches and illustrations - all features to provide you with a personal experience that meets your needs 42 illuminating live-action videos from Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy present anatomy in motion Click-on audio icons displayed alongside approximately 60,000 terms let you hear correct pronunciations    
ISBN: 9780781733908
Publication Date: 2005-12-14

Clinical Skills

Clinician's Pocket Reference by Leonard G. Gomella; Steven A. Haist Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality,  authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The original Scut Monkey Handbook is the market-leading survival guide for the wards and in the clinic! 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW "This pocket reference is packed with information that is important for medical students and interns on a day-to-day basis. It is rich with practical information that might otherwise be located in different manuals....Medical students and other healthcare providers beginning their clinical rotations are the intended audience. The fundamental information is important for all clinicians to master, thus the book serves housestaff quite well also....This book continues to be a favorite among medical students and housestaff for good reason."--Doody's Review Service "This book continues to be a favorite among medical students and housestaff for good reason."--Doody's Review Service This portable, pocket-sized "manual of manuals" provides essential patient care information for medical students. You will find totally up-to-date coverage of current treatment protocols and step-by-step information on the history and physical examination, differential diagnosis, key lab and diagnostic tests, and much more. Revised format and design delivers bulleted, concise information as well as numerous flow charts and tables Thoroughly updated and revised with particular attention to topics like clinical microbiology, critical care, emergencies, and commonly used medications
ISBN: 9780071454285
Publication Date: 2006-12-30
The color atlas and synopsis of family medicine, 3e by Richard Usatine earning with images and digital photography -- The essence of family medicine -- Physicial and sexual abuse -- Ophthalmology -- Ear, nose, and throat -- Oral health -- The heart and circulation -- The lungs -- Gastrointestinal -- Genitourinary -- Women's health -- Musculoskeletal problems -- Dermatology -- Podiatry -- Infectious diseases -- Endocrine -- The brain and nervous system -- Substance abuse.
ISBN: 1259862054
Publication Date: 2019
Differential diagnosis in internal medicine : from symptom to diagnosis by Walter Siegenthaler A pragmatic approach to differential diagnosis gives rapid, reliable answers to these questions: Which diseases are likely? What causes them? What are the typical characteristics of these disorders? Do they correspond with the symptoms in question? How can the preliminary diagnosis be confirmed? Siegenthaler's new Differential Diagnosis in Internal Medicine guides the reader through the challenges of differential diagnosis across the spectrum of internal medicine. Practice-orientated learning: Identify and understand key symptoms Consider the whole patient in selecting possible diseases Evaluate, exclude or confirm possible diagnoses Make the correct diagnosis using an appropriate diagnostic procedure Professor Walter Siegenthaler brings decades of international experience in clinical practice, teaching and writing on internal medicine to this new book. The book also benefits from close cooperation with the leaders of the specialist internal medicine departments at the University Hospital Zürich, and of other institutions and disciplines. The generalist and specialist aspects of internal medicine are thereby brought together to enhance the approach to the patient. The book is directed at medical students, residents in most areas of medicine, practitioners of internal medicine, general practitioners, dermatologists, neurologists and rheumatologists and those involved with the basic subjects in medicine who wish to gain competence and knowledge in internal medicine. From Symptom to Diagnosis: Organized by functional system and symptom constellations Covers all fields of internal medicine plus special treatment of subjects dermatology, neurology and rheumatology Typical findings and signs for differentiation of all common, rare and even "exotic" diseases with pathophysiological background information Nearly 1000 stunning figures and many instructive table-format overviews and differential diagnostic algorithms Differential diagnostic evaluation of common laboratory test results, including step-by-step plans for further diagnosis Learn by tracing the path from symptom to diagnosis, just as the physician encounters the situation in practice!
ISBN: 3132044512
Publication Date: 2007
Macleod's clinical examination. 15e by Anna R. Dover Fifty years since it was first published and now fully revised, Macleod’s remains the textbook of choice for medical students, junior doctors, nurses and allied health practitioners who understand that excellence in clinical examination is integral to good practice. The fifteenth edition will teach you how to take a history and carry out proficient clinical examination, in order to elicit the key clinical symptoms and signs of disease. It covers general principles, relevant history, examination and investigations for all the major body systems – and how to effectively apply these skills to specific clinical situations and prepare for assessment. Macleod’s Clinical Examination is enhanced with 32 supplementary videos demonstrating key clinical examination routines described in the book, many new and revised for this edition in line with latest guidance and best practice.
ISBN: 9780323847704
Publication Date: 2023

Emergency Medicine

Cecil essentials of medicine, 10e by Edward J. Wing Known for its concise, easy-to-read writing style and comprehensive coverage, Cecil Essentials of Medicine has been a favorite of students, residents, and instructors through nine outstanding editions. This revised 10th Edition continues the tradition of excellence with a focus on high-yield core knowledge of key importance to anyone entering or established in the field of internal medicine. Fully revised and updated by editors Edward J. Wing and Fred J. Schiffman, along with other leading teachers and experts in the field, Cecil Essentials remains clinically focused and solidly grounded in basic science.
ISBN: 0323722725
Publication Date: 2022
Current diagnosis & treatment emergency medicine by C. Keith Stone Current Emergency Diagnosis & Treatment, eighth edition, is designed to present concise, easy-to-read, practical information on the diagnosis and treatment of a wide spectrum of conditions that present to the emergency department. The chapters emphasize the immediate management of life-threatening problems then present the evaluation and treatment of specific disorders. We trust that this text will aid all practitioners of emergency medicine in providing care to their patients.
ISBN: 0071839909

Immunology

Basic Immunology : functions and disorders of the immune system by Abul Abbas; Andrew Lichtman; Shiv Pillai Meticulously reviewed and updated for today's medical students, Basic Immunology, 6th Edition, is a concise text expertly written by the same distinguished author team as the best-selling, comprehensive text, Cellular and Molecular Immunology. This focused, easy-to-understand volume uses full-color illustrations and clinical images, useful tables, and practical features such as Summary Point boxes, end-of-chapter review questions, glossary terms, and clinical cases-all designed to help students master this complex topic in the most efficient, effective manner possible. Emphasizes clinical aspects of immunology, including disease pathogenesis, the development of novel therapies based on basic science, and an appendix of clinical cases for real-world application. Provides top-notch instruction from experienced teachers, course directors, and lecturers led by well-known editor and author Dr. Abul Abbas. Features a highly readable writing style and practical organization, now with fully revised content and updated images to reflect recent important advances in today's understanding of the immune system. Provides additional online features such as answers to in-book chapter review questions, helpful animations, and up to 10 self-assessment questions per chapter. Presents information in a format and style that maximizes usefulness to students and teachers studying medicine, allied health fields, and biology. Contains numerous features designed to help students understand key immunologic concepts: high-quality illustrations, practical tables, chapter outlines, bolded key points, and focus questions in every chapter for self-assessment and review. Includes an Enhanced eBook version with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 0323549438
Publication Date: 2022

Musculoskeletal

Systematic Musculoskeletal Examinations by George V. Lawry; The University of Iowa Research Foundation Intro -- Contents -- Preface -- Acknowledgments -- Chapter 1 Introduction -- Chapter 2 The Screening Musculoskeletal Examination -- Chapter 3 The General Musculoskeletal Examination -- Chapter 4 The Regional Musculoskeletal Examination of the Shoulder -- Chapter 5 The Regional Musculoskeletal Examination of the Knee -- Chapter 6 The Regional Musculoskeletal Examination of the Neck -- Chapter 7 The Regional Musculoskeletal Examination of the Low Back -- Suggested References -- Index. A thorough introductory guide to the techniques of the musculoskeletal examination Systematic Musculoskeletal Examinations is a clear, step-by-step learning text and atlas designed to teach essential and foundational skills of musculoskeletal physical assessment. Utilizing concise, easy-to-follow text and hundreds of outstanding photographs, this is an important resource for students, residents in training, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and practicing physicians seeking an organized approach to performing practical, problem-focused musculoskeletal physical examinations. Systematic Musculoskeletal Examinations presents a 3-part learning system: 1. Screening Musculoskeletal Examination (SMSE): rapid assessment of structure and function 2. General Musculoskeletal Examination (GMSE): comprehensive assessment of joint inflammation and arthritis 3. Regional Musculoskeletal Examination (RMSE): focused assessments of structure and function combined with special testing of the shoulder, knee, and neck and low back Each chapter is similarly organized to include: Introduction, Clinical Utility and Objectives; Essential Concepts and Clinical History; Overview and Component Parts of the Examination; a Practice Checklist, and brief descriptions of Common Clinical Problems. Superb photographs support the text and enhance the learning process.
ISBN: 9780071745215
Publication Date: 2012

Neurology

A guide to the primary care of neurological disorders by A. John Popp Synthesizing the expert clinical advice of specialists who treat disorders of the nervous system, this book is an accessible, single-volume resource for primary care physicians requiring practical information on a range of neurological disorders. A Guide to the Primary Care of Neurological Disorders provides readers with a firm foundation in neuroscience concepts that will enable them to make timely diagnostic, treatment, and referral decisions about common symptoms, including chronic pain, headache, seizures, numbness, and dizziness. Additional chapters cover specific categories of neurological disease, providing the reader with concise descriptions of the clinical manifestations, examination techniques, and treatment options for each.
ISBN: 1604063297
Publication Date: 2008

Pathology

Robbins Basic Pathology, 9e by Vinay Kumar Robbins Basic Pathology delivers the pathology knowledge you need, the way you need it, from the name you can trust This medical textbook's unbeatable author team helps you efficiently master the core concepts you need to know for your courses and USMLE exams. Get a rich understanding of all essential pathology concepts with expert guidance from an all-star editorial team. Grasp the connections between basic science and clinical medicine with clinicopathologic correlations throughout. Learn core concepts quickly and efficiently with a highly templated design that highlights pathogenesis and morphology. Artwork revised and updated for a more modern look and more three-dimensional feel Targeted Therapy boxes - provides clinical information on appropriate therapy related to the disease under discussion All photomicrographs and gross photos reviewed and improved to ensure excellent quality
ISBN: 1455737879
Publication Date: 2013

Pediatrics

Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 9e by Karen J. Marcdante Concise, readable, and up to date, Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 9th Edition, provides the must-know information you need in pediatrics from the name you trust. A readable, full-color format; high-yield, targeted chapters; and thorough content updates ensure strong coverage of core knowledge as well as recent advances in the field. This focused resource is ideal for medical students, pediatric residents, PAs, and nurse practitioners in various educational and practice settings, including pediatric residencies, clerkships, and exams.
ISBN: 9780323775649
Publication Date: 2022