LibraryGuides: Physician Assistant/Associate: Anatomy and Physiology

Anatomical Models and Simulators Collection

The University Libraries make a collection of anatomical models and simulators available to students, faculty, and staff. The collection includes models, such as models of the heart, brain, jaw, and joints, full artificial skeletons, and simulators, such as ear examination simulators and joint injection simulators.

Please refer to the link below to view collections on the Omaha and Phoenix campuses:

Anatomical Models and Simulators Collection Browse the collections of anatomical models and simulators available to students, faculty, and staff.

Anatomy Texts

Grant's dissector, 17e by Alan J. Detton "Grant's Dissector provides step-by-step human cadaver dissection procedures for students to perform the dissections in lab and to recognize important relationships revealed through dissection. Each chapter is consistently organized beginning with a Dissection Overview, followed by detailed Dissection Instructions, and concluding with a Dissection Follow-up. The Dissection Overview provides a blueprint of what needs to be accomplished during the dissection session, and includes relevant surface anatomy as well as concise coverage of osteology. Dissection Instructions offer a logical sequence and numbered steps for the dissection. The Dissection Follow-up emphasizes important features of the dissection and encourages students to reflect on and synthesize the information
ISBN: 9781975134655
Publication Date: 2021
Moore's clinically oriented anatomy, 9e by Keith L Moore author. A. M. R. Agur author.; Arthur F. Dalley II, author. "Clinically Oriented Anatomy is widely acclaimed for its comprehensive and well-written, "story-telling" text, accurate and detailed illustrations, and the relevance of its clinical correlations ("blue boxes"). The textbook serves as a complete reference and places clinical emphasis on anatomy that is important in physical diagnosis for primary care, interpretation of diagnostic imaging, and understanding the anatomical basis of emergency medicine and general surgery. This textbook is popular in a variety of programs, including medical, physician assistant, physical therapy, occupational therapy, graduate biology/anatomy, and exercise science"
ISBN: 9781975154127
Publication Date: 2023
Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy, 8e by Frank H. Netter For students and clinical professionals who are learning anatomy, participating in a dissection lab, sharing anatomy knowledge with patients, or refreshing their anatomy knowledge, the Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy illustrates the body, region by region, in clear, brilliant detail from a clinician's perspective. Unique among anatomy atlases, it contains illustrations that emphasize anatomic relationships that are most important to the clinician in training and practice. Illustrated by clinicians, for clinicians, it contains more than 550 exquisite plates plus dozens of carefully selected radiologic images for common views. Presents world-renowned, superbly clear views of the human body from a clinical perspective, with paintings by Dr. Frank Netter as well as Dr. Carlos A. G. Machado, one of today's foremost medical illustrators. Content guided by expert anatomists and educators: R. Shane Tubbs, Paul E. Neumann, Jennifer K. Brueckner-Collins, Martha Johnson Gdowski, Virginia T. Lyons, Peter J. Ward, Todd M. Hoagland, Brion Benninger, and an international Advisory Board. Offers region-by-region coverage, including muscle table appendices at the end of each section and quick reference notes on structures with high clinical significance in common clinical scenarios. Contains new illustrations by Dr. Machado including clinically important areas such as the pelvic cavity, temporal and infratemporal fossae, nasal turbinates, and more. Features new nerve tables devoted to the cranial nerves and the nerves of the cervical, brachial, and lumbosacral plexuses. Uses updated terminology based on the second edition of the international anatomic standard, Terminologia Anatomica, and includes common clinically used eponyms. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Provides access to extensive digital content: every plate in the Atlas?and over 100 bonus plates including illustrations from previous editions?is enhanced with an interactive label quiz option and supplemented with "Plate Pearls" that provide quick key points of the major themes of each plate. Digital content also includes over 300 multiple choice questions and other learning tools. Also available, alternative versions of the 8th Edition: . Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy: A Systems Approach-Same content as the classic regional approach, but organized by organ systems. . Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy: Classic Regional Approach-hardback Professional Edition with downloadable image bank for personal use. . Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy: Classic Regional Approach with Latin terminology
ISBN: 9780323680424
Publication Date: 2023
Stedman's Medical Dictionary by Stedman's Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! A must-have medical reference resource!   Stedman's Medical Dictionary, 28th Edition, is the most reliable resource available for healthcare professionals, including medical students, physicians, educators, researchers, and medical language specialists. More than 45 consultants from all the major medical and health science specialties have reviewed each word for accuracy and clarity, including new consultants for the specialties of endocrinology, gastroenterology, geriatrics, and rheumatology. Includes more than 107,000 terms and definitions. Approximately 1500 color illustrations, photographs, and tables expand and clarify the meanings of the dictionary terms and help the user develop a better understanding of the terms. Suffixes, prefixes, and combining forms - the 'building blocks' of medical language - are marked with an icon to aid in the user learning these terms. Terminologia Anatomica utilized for Gross Anatomy and Neuroanatomy as sanctioned by the Federative Committee on Anatomical Terminology. Easy-to-find subentries are included on their own line for easier readability. Useful cross-references highlighted in blue refer the user to a preferred synonym. Precision cut thumb tabs help readers easily search for terms  Also included with purchase is a free 3-month subscription to Stedman's Online, which includes all the content from the print dictionary and more- Superior keyword search functionality making accuracy instantaneous Access to more than 5,600 images illustrating key medical terms and concepts Customize the product using My Stedman's: add terms, add notes to terms, save searches and illustrations - all features to provide you with a personal experience that meets your needs 42 illuminating live-action videos from Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy present anatomy in motion Click-on audio icons displayed alongside approximately 60,000 terms let you hear correct pronunciations    
ISBN: 9780781733908
Publication Date: 2005-12-14

Color Atlases

Color Atlas of Anatomy by Elke Lütjen-Drecoll; Johannes W. Rohen; Chichiro Yokochi; Elke Lutjen-Drecoll This Color Atlas of Anatomy features full-color photographs of actual cadaver dissections, with accompanying schematic drawings and diagnostic images. The photographs depict anatomic structures with a realism unmatched by illustrations in traditional atlases and show students specimens as they will appear in the dissection lab. Chapters are organized by region in order of standard dissection, with structures presented both in a systemic manner, from deep to surface, and in a regional manner. This edition has additional clinical imaging, including MRIs, CTs, and endoscopic techniques. New graphics include clinically relevant nerve and vessel varieties and antagonistic muscle functions. Many older images have been replaced with new, high-resolution images. Black-and-white dissection photographs have been replaced with color photography. A companion website will include an Image Bank, interactive software (similar to an Interactive Atlas), and full text online.
ISBN: 9781582558561
Publication Date: 2010-03-26
Human Anatomy, Color Atlas and Textbook by John A. Gosling; Philip F. Harris; John R. Humpherson; Ian Whitmore; Peter L. T. Willan The new edition of this well-known hybrid anatomy core text and atlas superbly depicts and describes the human body, so you can identify anatomical structures with confidence and have a clear understanding of the core anatomy you need.  Now fully revised and updated, it is the only textbook and atlas of gross anatomy that illustrates all structures using high-quality dissection photographs AND clearly labelled line drawings for each photograph. This is combined with concise yet thorough text to support and explain all key human anatomy and clearly relate it to clinical practice. The complete, downloadable eBook (via Student Consult), enhanced with interactive self-assessment material, completes this superb, comprehensive resource. It will be particularly relevant to medical and dental students, as well as candidates preparing for higher surgical specialties and radiology. It will also be an invaluable, accessible guide for students in other professions where anatomy is an important component of the course. High quality, richly coloured dissection photographs show structures most likely to be seen and tested in the lab - helps you recognize and interpret gross specimens accurately Interpretive line drawings next to every photograph, with consistent colour-coding - helps you clearly identify structures and differentiate fat, muscle, ligament, etc. 'Clinical Skills' pages and new highlighting of the most clinically relevant text helps readers quickly understand how to apply knowledge of gross anatomy to the clinical setting New photographs reflect the latest imaging techniques as seen in current practice This book comes with the complete, downloadable eBook via STUDENT CONSULT- enhanced with new interactive self-assessment material to check understanding and aid exam preparation High quality, richly coloured dissection photographs show structures most likely to be seen and tested in the lab - helps you recognize and interpret gross specimens accurately Interpretive line drawings next to every photograph, with consistent colour-coding - helps you clearly identify structures and differentiate fat, muscle, ligament, etc. 'Clinical Skills' pages and new highlighting of the most clinically relevant text helps readers quickly understand how to apply knowledge of gross anatomy to the clinical setting New photographs reflect the latest imaging techniques as seen in current practice This book comes with the complete, downloadable eBook via STUDENT CONSULT - enhanced with new interactive self-assessment material to check understanding and aid exam preparation
ISBN: 9780723438274
Publication Date: 2016-04-20
McMinn's Color Atlas of Lower Limb Anatomy by Bari M. Logan; David Bowden; Ralph T. Hutchings Understand foot, ankle and lower limb anatomy visually and clinically. McMinn's Color Atlas of Lower Limb Anatomy is the ideal study aid or trusted visual reference for the range of students and practitioners who require a detailed understanding of the anatomy of the foot, ankle and lower limb. It provides you with the perfect grasp of all the important lower limb structures that are likely to be encountered in practice or in the anatomy lab. Superb images of dissections, osteology, radiographic and surface anatomy offer an unmatched view of muscles, nerves, skeletal structures, blood vessels and more. Figures are accompanied by concise notes and commentaries, as well as orientational artworks to help you locate the structure accurately on the body. This updated fifth edition offers increased clinical relevance and features an entirely new chapter on Imaging of the Lower Limb, reflecting the very latest modalities and techniques. It also comes with the complete, enhanced eBook for the first time. All new state-of-the-art clinical imaging chapter - provides new insights and reflects anatomy as seen in modern practice Easily correlates essential anatomy with clinical practice - through over 200 high-quality photographs, combined with explanatory illustrations for more complex areas and concise, accompanying notes throughout Bonus information in Appendices - including practical guidance to administering nerve blocks accurately and effectively in the regional anaesthesia section Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase - this enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Mostly life-size dissections and osteology - corresponds to what students/practitioners will see in the dissection lab or in real life Includes radiography and surface anatomy pictures - helps maximise clinical relevance (and necessary for modern courses) Orientational and explanatory artworks - helps the reader to position on the body Short accompanying text - expands on the illustrations and serves as study tool Numbered labels - helps facilitate self-testing Appendix containing key information on Skin, Muscles, Arteries and Nerves All new and expanded 'Imaging' chapter to reflect what is seen in current teaching and practice Revised section on regional anaesthesia of the lower limb, to improve layout and reflect practice updates Print + electronic package for the first time, incorporating new and enhanced eBook version via Expert Consult
ISBN: 9780702072185
Publication Date: 2018
Color Atlas of Human Anatomy, Vol 1: Locomotor System by Werner Platzer; Thomas Shiozawa-Bayer For over 45 years, the three-volume Color Atlas of Human Anatomy has provided readers with a compact review of the human body and its structures. It is ideal for studying, preparing for exams, and as a reference. The new, 8th edition of Volume 1: Locomotor System builds on a robust foundation of scientific knowledge, summarizing in its compactness both the topographic and systemic anatomy of the musculoskeletal system. Key highlights: Updated clinical notes provide important correlations between the anatomy of the musculoskeletal system and disease processes Proven concept of concise texts paired with more than 200 color plates of outstanding anatomical illustrations Overviews of anatomical terms and their Latin equivalents Volume 1: Locomotor System is accompanied by Volume 2: Internal Organs (ISBN 978-3-13-242448-7) and Volume 3: Nervous System and Sensory Organs (ISBN 978-3-13-242451-7).
ISBN: 3132424439
Publication Date: 2023
Color Atlas of Human Anatomy, Vol 2: Internal Organs by Helga Fritsch; Wolfgang Kühnel For over 45 years, the three-volume Color Atlas of Human Anatomy has provided readers with a compact review of the human body and its structures. It is ideal for studying, preparing for exams, and as a reference. The new, 7th edition of Volume 2: Internal Organs builds on a robust foundation of scientific knowledge, summarizing in its compactness the macroscopic and topographic anatomy and the functions of the internal organs. Key highlights: Proven concept of concise texts paired with more than 200 color plates of outstanding anatomical illustrations Microscopic anatomy--if necessary for understanding the respective organ Organ functions are explained in connection with the embryological development of the organs, so many anatomical relationships can be better understood For numerous cross-sectional anatomical illustrations, corresponding CT and MRI images are provided, which helps with the application of anatomical knowledge in clinical practice Volume 2: Internal Organs is accompanied by Volume 1: Locomotor System (ISBN 978-3-13-242443-3) and Volume 3: Nervous System and Sensory Organs (ISBN 978-3-13-242451-7).
ISBN: 9783132424487
Publication Date: 2023
Color Atlas of Human Anatomy, Vol 3: Nervous System and Sensory Organs by Werner Kahle; Michael Frotscher; Frank Schmitz For over 45 years, the three-volume Color Atlas of Human Anatomy has provided readers with a compact review of the human body and its structures. It is ideal for studying, preparing for exams, and as a reference. The new, 8th edition of Volume 3: Nervous System and Sensory Organs builds on a robust foundation of scientific knowledge, summarizing in its compactness the structure and functions of the nervous system and sensory organs. Key highlights: Updated to include the latest findings in neuroanatomy Proven concept of concise texts paired with 190 color plates of outstanding anatomical illustrations The structure and topography of the various components of the nervous system and their complex, functional interactions are explained Important neuroanatomical research techniques and the use of imaging methods (CT, MRI, PET, and SPECT) are discussed Volume 3: Nervous System and Sensory Organs is accompanied by Volume 1: Locomotor System (ISBN 978-3-13-242443-3) and Volume 2: Internal Organs (ISBN 978-3-13-242448-7).
ISBN: 9783132424517
Publication Date: 2023

Anatomy Multimedia

Library Resources

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
Contains videos of real human anatomic specimens in their natural colors, with structures broken down step by step—from bone to surface anatomy—to provide a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.
LWW Health Library: Anatomical Sciences
This resource includes a variety of e-books, video and audio materials, self assessment questions, cases, and clinical skills resources focused on anatomy.
NetAnatomy
A platform designed to teach human anatomy to health science students of the health sciences using radiographic, cross-sectional, and gross anatomical images and textual content.

External Recommended Resources

Neuroanatomy

DITKI: Neuroanatomy This link opens in a new window
One draws each neuroanatomical pathway and structure, and in the process, creates memorable and reproducible schematics for the various learning points in neuroanatomy.
To register, click "Institutional registration" in the top right. Please choose Creighton University and enter your Creighton email. Your access will start once you click on the link in the verification email.

Nolte's Essentials of the Human Brain, 8e by Vanderah, Todd W.; Nolte, John Extensively revised throughout, Nolte's Essentials of the Human Brain, 2nd Edition, offers a reader-friendly overview of neuroscience and neuroanatomy ideal for studying and reviewing for exams. Updated content, integrated pathology and pharmacology for a more clinical focus, and full-color illustrations make a complex subject easier to understand. Test and verify your knowledge with review questions, unlabeled drawings, and more.
ISBN: 0323568408
Publication Date: 2018
Nolte's the Human Brain: An Introduction to its Functional Anatomy, 8e by Vanderah, Todd W.; Gould, Douglas J. Throughout seven popular editions, Nolte's the Human Brain has accomplished the challenging task of demystifying the complexities of the gross anatomy of the brain, spinal cord, and brainstem. A clear writing style, interesting examples, and high-quality visual cues bring this complicated subject to life and make it more understandable and enjoyable to learn. You'll get the depth of coverage you need with a well-rounded presentation of all key topics in functional neuroanatomy and neuroscience.
ISBN: 0323755305
Publication Date: 2021
Nolte's the Human Brain in Photographs and Diagrams, 5e by Todd W. Vanderah Designed to promote a rapid understanding of complex concepts, Nolte's The Human Brain in Photographs and Diagrams combines easy-to-digest coverage of the brain, spinal cord, and brainstem with carefully selected visuals to cover all aspects of the information needed for success in coursework, on exams, and in clerkships and clinical practice. Features more than 600 high-quality figures including brain sections (transverse, coronal, axial, sagittal), 3-D reconstructions, MRIs and angiography, illustrated pathways that help you visualize anatomical structures and neuropathology. Presents a systemic series of unlabelled whole brain sections next to corresponding sections with important structures outlined and labelled. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references - including 68 bonus dissection videos.
ISBN: 0323598161
Publication Date: 2019

Histology

Color Atlas of Cytology, Histology, and Microscopic Anatomy, 4th ed.
Junqueira's Basic Histology: Text and Atlas 16th ed
Junqueira's Basic Histology: Text and Atlas 16th ed (Review Questions)
requires free registration for a MyAccess account to create quizzes from the question bank