Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Encyclopedias & Collections
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
Summary reports of current political, economic, social, cultural, and health issues in the news (1960-present).
Gale Virtual Reference Library Collection
Encyclopedias for the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and business from the Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL).
Oxford Reference (gateway)
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and companions for many subject areas, especially the humanities, but also social sciences, sciences, and business.
Encyclopedias in a wide range of social science disciplines, as well as business and economics.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (eLS)
Online encyclopedia with peer-reviewed entries covering topics in the biological sciences (Wiley).
Profiles physical and psychological disorders, diseases, and conditions for the layperson, including causes, symptoms, treatment, therapy, and prospects.
Collection of academic encyclopedias in a broad range of disciplines, with emphasis on the sciences. Vendor recommends Firefox, 7/18/18.
Collection of academic encyclopedias in a broad range of disciplines, with emphasis on the sciences.
More Subject Encyclopedias
CQ Political Reference Suite
Political reference suite of online encyclopedias, guides, handbooks, and other sources on U.S. government and politics, with some international sources.
Literature Criticism Online (Gale)
Extensive compilation of introductory commentary and criticism on literature from the classical to contemporary era, including poetry and short stories.
Thousands of critical essays, plot summaries, character profiles, and author biographies for fiction, poetry, drama, essays, and philosophical works.
Routledge Politics and International Relations Online
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and biographical sources for politics, political systems, governments, economies, countries, and regions of the world.
Routledge Religion Online
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and biographical sources for Christianity and other world religions, both ancient and modern.
Profiles of great lives and great events in history, from the ancient world through the 20th century, plus primary source documents.