Librarian
Reinert-Alumni Library
2500 California Plaza
Omaha, NE 68178
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.
- CQ Researcher Plus ArchiveSummary reports of current political, economic, social, cultural, and health issues in the news (1960-present).
- JSTOR
Archive of 2,400 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and business. Narrow results by discipline(s).
- Scopus
An abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows users to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsProvides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and related fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy (1975-present).
- PolicyMapA U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform that leverages thousands of data indicators to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis. Users can go from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions for their research and studies.
- Violence & Abuse AbstractsThis bibliographic database covers the essential topics related to the study of violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and related areas.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
This resource provides authoritative articles, research reports, videos, and statistics to help demonstrate both sides of today’s most debated political and social issues.
Special Focus
- Historical Abstracts
A bibliographic database containing citations to scholarly articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), as well as the key historical journals from virtually every major country.
- Nexis Uni
This resource has news from sources from the U.S. and around the world, as well as company profiles, financials, and legal source documents.
- Military & Government CollectionA database of full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. It is designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
This resource is a full-text research database covering sociology and related disciplines. It features hundreds of full-text journals and millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus. Journals covers a broad range of studies, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work. Informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895 are also available.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) AbstractsThis database covers literature related to research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Search U.S. and international publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research.