LibraryGuides: Philosophy: Databases

Recommended Databases

JSTOR
Archive of 2,400 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and business. Narrow results by discipline(s).
Philosopher's Index with Full Text
Articles from international journals in philosophy and related fields, plus books and book chapters (1940-present).
PhilPapers
This resource is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and article; it offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, reading lists, discussion forums, and more.

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS
Articles from hundreds of religion and theology journals, dissertations, and proceedings (1949-present), as well as material from the Catholic Periodical Literature Index.
Humanities International Index
This database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities from around the world.
Iter Bibliography
Bibliographies of secondary and primary materials related to the period of 400-1700 CE, as well as several journals and an international directory of scholars.
L'Année Philologique
A bibliography for articles and books that cover all aspects of the ancient Greek and Roman world in a broad range of subjects from language and literature to history, archaeology and more (1949-present).
Project MUSE
Provides access to the full-text of several scholarly journals and books from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Much of the journal content focuses on the humanities, arts, and social sciences (mid-1990s to present), plus recent books on global studies and literature.

Past Masters
Includes the philosophical essays of Donald Davidson, the collected works of John Dewey, the Oxford translations of G.W.F. Hegel, the works of George Santayana, and the collected works of Ludwig Wittgenstein.

Research tools that help you find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, or other information sources like books, videos, and maps.
Some focus on a kind of source (like newspaper articles); most of ours focus on scholarly research in a specific academic field.

(Ruth Szpunar at DePauw University)