LibraryGuides: History: Databases

What is a Database?

Research tools that help you find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, or other information sources like books, videos, and maps.
Some focus on a kind of source (like newspaper articles); most of ours focus on scholarly research in a specific academic field.

(Ruth Szpunar at DePauw University)

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.
America: History & Life
An index of scholarly literature, including citations for journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations, about United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
Archives Unbound
A database of more than 300,000 primary sources regarding various topics, such as U.S. foreign policy, U.S. civil rights, global affairs, colonial studies, and modern history.
Historical Abstracts
A bibliographic database containing citations to scholarly articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), as well as the key historical journals from virtually every major country.
Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Bibliographies of secondary and primary materials related to the period of 400-1700 CE, as well as several journals and an international directory of scholars.
JSTOR
Archive of 2,400 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and business. Narrow results by discipline(s).

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.
Access World News
Current and historical news articles from local, regional, national, and international newspapers, including the New York Times and Omaha World-Herald.
Nexis Uni
This resource has news from sources from the U.S. and around the world, as well as company profiles, financials, and legal source documents.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times
This resource digitally reproduces every issue of the New York Times (1851-2010) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and full-text searching of the newspaper.
Scopus
An abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows users to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.