Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
World Literature Resources
Background information and a selected bibliography on 65 African authors.
Reference PL 8010 A453
Cambridge Companion to the Latin American Novel
Offers a broad overview of the novel's history and analyses in depth several representative works by Gabriel García Márquez, Machado de Assis, Isabel Allende, Mario Vargas Llosa and others.
Cambridge Companion to the African Novel
Highlights the themes and styles of the African novel through an examination of the works that have either attained canonical status or can be expected to do so. Includes African writers such as Amos Tutuola, Naguib Mahfouz, Wole Soyinka, J. M. Coetzee and Chinua Achebe. Includes the francophone novel and the African novel in Arabic.
Cambridge Companion to the Classic Russian Novel
Offers a thematic account of many influential Russian novels written over the last two hundred years, including the work of Pushkin, Dostoevsky, Tolstoy, Turgenev, Bulgakov, Nabokov, Pasternak, Solzhenitsyn and many others.
Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics
The Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics collection offers over 2000 comprehensive essays in over 200 volumes on major authors, periods and genres worldwide.
Cambridge Histories Online: Literary Studies
Individual volumes cover Arabic Literature in the Post-Classical Period, African and Caribbean Literature, Classical Literature (Greek and Latin), German Literature, Irish Literature, Italian Literature, Latin American Literature, Russian Literature and Spanish Literature.
Miguel de Cervantes, author of Don Quixote.
Reference PQ 6337 .A2 2004 (2 vols.)
Contemporary postcolonial and postimperial literature in English
Introduction to post colonial theories and issues. Each country includes geographical and historical background, and a variety of essays about the authors. Compiled by George Landow many of the essays are the work of his students. When the site is complete it will include over 100 contemporary postcolonial authors.
A Guide to Chinese Literature
Reference PL 2271 I3413 1997
Latin American Writers
Critical essays and selected bibliographies on 176 playwrights, poets, novelists, and journalists from the sixteenth century to the present.
Reference PQ 7081 A1L37
Modern Japanese Writers
Biographical information and a selected bibliography on 23 modern Japanese authors.
Reference PL 723 M563
Reference Guide to World Literature (Gale)
Biography and criticism for literary works written in languages other than English, from early manuscripts to the present.
World Literature in Spanish: An Encyclopedia
Covers literatures throughout the world that are written in Spanish. "This linguistically based (rather than nationally defined) understanding of Spanish literature transcends genres, time periods, and political boundaries and recognizes the growing diversity within national borders..." This encyclopedia will also be valuable to those reading Spanish/Latin American literature in English translation.
Reference PQ 6006 W67 2011
, Country Information
, Fine & Performing Arts
, Government Information
, Journalism & Computing
, Modern Languages
, Pastoral Care