Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Verse Project
Electronic archive of American poetry prior to 1920. Over 400 authors including African American and women poets.
"Gateway to scholarly relevant Internet resources on Anglo-American language and literature."
The E Server
One of the foremost online resources for literary studies, the EServer provides searchable electronic versions of over 30,000 works of literature and criticism, and links to related humanities materials and resources. It also publishes texts in the arts and humanities.
Electronic Poetry Center
Focus is on innovative poetries, new media writing, and literary programming. Alphabetical listings of authors, e-poetry, poetry magazines and publishers. Maintained by the Poetics Program and Department of Media Study at SUNY Buffalo.
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository providing long-term access to public domain and in copyright full-text content from many sources.http://hathitrust.org
How to Write a Literature Review
From UC-Santa Cruz. Explains the components of a literature review and provides links to examples and additional information.
An on-line index to plays in collections, anthologies and periodicals.
Internet Poetry Archive
Making poetry accessible to new audiences. The archive includes the work of 8 living poets from around the world Phillip Levine, Seamus Heaney, Czeslaw Milosz, Robert Pinsky, Yusef Komunyakaa, Margaret Walker, and Richard Wilbur.
Irish Literature, Mythology, Folklore and Drama
Five main categories Literature, Mythology, Folklore, Theatre and Fine Arts. Biographies, works, and information on individual writers including Oscar Wilde, William Butler Yeats, James Joyce, and Seamus Heaney
Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies
A comprehensive resource for medieval studies: bibliographies, European cultural studies, pedagogical resources, electronic texts, music.
Literary Resources on the Net
Jack Lynch's amazing, searchable collection of sites related to literature.
From The Writing Center, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. This handout explains what a literature review is and how to construct one.
This well-made site offers information on medieval, renaissance and 18th century authors, with the full text of selected works, and additional materials including biographical sketches, book reviews, essays, and beautiful graphics.
Outline of American Literature
Descriptions of the different periods of American Literature. Includes links to websites.
Poets.org: The Academy of American Poets
Categories include poetry awards, poetry exhibits, find a poet, and find a poem. Information on more than 450 poets and over 1200 poems.
The Poetess Archive
A resource for studying the literary history of popular British and American poetry in the "poetess tradition," with over 4,000 entries and some full-text.
Now part of the Initiative for the Digital Humanities
Voice of the Shuttle
A good starting point. The broad subject areas are Creative Writing, Literature (in English) and Literatures (Other Than English). Contains links to resources by genre, author, time period, and geographical region. Includes e-journals, discussion lists, conferences, and academic departments.
Wright American Fiction 1851-1875
Online collection of over 1,700 works of fiction published between 1851-1875.
Associations and Organizations
, Country Information
, Fine & Performing Arts
, Government Information
, Journalism & Computing
, Modern Languages
, Pastoral Care