Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias and Reference
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry
contains 250,000 poems in full text and 450,000 citations, numbers that will increase with each update. The poems in full text are the most widely-read in the English language, as well as in Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
See more at http://www.columbiagrangers.org/static/about
Gale Literary Databases
Includes author biographies from Contemporary Authors and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Campus use only.
GVRL Literature Collection
Includes the Twayne's Authors Series plus sources on ancient, African, and Latin American writers and literary genres from the Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL).
Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies
From the Modern Language Association, identifies reference tools essential for the study of American, British, and other literatures in English.
Reference PR 83 H34 2008
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Includes directory and descriptive information for more than 7,100 periodicals in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from the Modern Language Association (MLA).
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The Oxford English Dictionary is the standard authority on the etymology and evolution of the English language.
Oxford Reference (gateway)
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and companions for many subject areas, especially the humanities, but also social sciences, sciences, and business.
Thousands of critical essays, plot summaries, character profiles, and author biographies for fiction, poetry, drama, essays, and philosophical works.
Masterpieces of World Literature in Digest Form
Reference PN 44 .M3 1952 (4 vols.)
Provides summaries and analysis of selected works, including Shakespears and the Bible. Part of eLibrary.
Summaries and critical analyses of 500 literary works from Barnes & Noble, written by qualified students or new graduates.
, Country Information
, Fine & Performing Arts
, Government Information
, Journalism & Computing
, Modern Languages
, Pastoral Care