LibGuides: Sociology Research Guide: Encyclopedias & Reference

Sociology

CountryWatch
Political, economic, social, and environmental overviews, statistics, and news for approximately 200 countries and some non-sovereign nations.
Europa World Plus
Includes demographic, economic, and social statistics for 250 countries, plus political profiles and directory information.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Collection (gateway)
Encyclopedias from the Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) in a range of subjects, notably History, Medicine, and Social Science.
Oxford Reference: Social Sciences
Collection of dictionaries and encyclopedias on regional and area studies, society and culture, politics, human rights, and social welfare.
SAGE Knowledge (gateway)
Encyclopedias in a wide range of social science disciplines, as well as business and economics.

Survey of Social Science: Sociology Series
Examines a diverse range of topics from fifteen subfields of sociology.
Reference Collection HM 17 .S86 1994 (5 vols.)

American Sociological Association Style Guide
Reference HM 73 A54 2010
Guide to Writing Sociology Papers
Discusses how to write various type of sociology papers, including textual analysis, ethnographic research, and quantitative research papers.
Reference Collection HM 73 .G78 1986
Quick Tips for ASA Style
American Sociological Association
The Survey Kit
Describes survey instruments and how to organize and conduct a survey.
Reference Collection HN 29 .S724 2003 (9 vols.)

Contact:

402-280-4126