LibraryGuides: PHL 497 Directed Independent Research: Books &amp; eBooks

JaySearch

JaySearch is the CU Libraries' search engine for books, articles, and more:
	Advanced Search

Ways to use JaySearch to find books BY slaves and ABOUT slaves

1. Use JaySearch Advanced (see box at right)

2. Change Material Type to Books

To Find Books BY a Person

***To find books BY a specific person, change the drop down box from Title to Author and type last name and first name, if known: ex.: Jacobs Harriet

***To find books BY slaves/slave narratives, change the drop down box from Title to Subject and try the subject terms below. Subject terms come from a controlled vocabulary that seeks to supply each book on a given topic with the same searchable words. Subject searches generally yield fewer, but far more focused results than broad keyword searches. Books by a specific person/slave recounting his/her personal experiences are primary sources.

Search:

slave narratives (This is usually the most productive)

slaves' writings

Slaves (in the first search box) AND personal narratives (In the 2nd search box. Make sure both drop down are changed to Subject.)

Other terms: (May include some books ABOUT slaves/slavery)

slavery sources

slaves sources

slaves biography

To Find Books ABOUT a person/slaves

***To find books ABOUT a specific person, change the drop down box from Title to Subject and type last name and first name, if known: ex.: Jacobs Harriet

***To find books ABOUT the slave narrative/slaves/slavery, change the drop down box from Title to Subject and try some of the subject terms below. These are generally secondary sources.

slave narratives history and criticism

slaves social conditions 19th century

slaves biography

freedmen biography

african-americans social conditions 19th century

slavery in literature

slavery philosophy

slavery moral and ethical aspects

For broader search results, but more, less relevant items retrieved, try searching significant terms such as slavery and philosophy (on separate search lines) as broad keywords by changing the drop down boxes from Subject to Any field.

The Slave Narrative - Secondary sources that provide background and critical analysis

Between Slavery and Freedom: Philosophy and American Slavery
Using the writings of slaves and former slaves, as well as commentaries on slavery, Between Slavery and Freedom explores the American slave experience to gain a better understanding of six moral and political concepts—oppression, paternalism, resistance, political obligation, citizenship, and forgiveness.
The Cambridge Companion to the African American Slave Narrative
This Companion examines the slave narrative's relation to British and American abolitionism, Anglo-American literary traditions such as autobiography and sentimental literature, and the larger African American literary tradition. Special attention is paid to leading exponents of the genre such as Olaudah Equiano, Frederick Douglass and Harriet Jacobs, as well as many other, less well known examples. Further essays explore the rediscovery of the slave narrative and its subsequent critical reception, as well as the uses to which the genre is put by modern authors such as Toni Morrison. With its chronology and guide to further reading, the Companion provides both an easy entry point for students new to the subject and comprehensive coverage and original insights for scholars in the field.
Critical Insights: The Slave Narrative
This volume presents recent critical work on the literary genre known as the slave narrative. It covers antebellum slave narratives as well as postbellum novels of slavery and twentieth-century neo-slave narratives, thus examining texts from an extended tradition of the slave narrative.
The Slave's Narrative
These autobiographies of Afro-American ex-slaves comprise the largest body of literature produced by slaves in human history. The book consists of three sections: selected reviews of slave narratives, dating from 1750 to 1861; essays examining how such narratives serve as historical material; and essays exploring the narratives as literary artifacts.
Slavery Remembered: A Record of Twentieth-Century Slave Narratives
Slavery Remembered is the first major attempt to analyze the slave narratives gathered as part of the Federal Writers'Project. Paul Escott's sensitive examination of each of the nearly 2,400 narratives and his quantitative analysis of the narratives as a whole eloquently present the differing beliefs and experiences of masters and slaves. The book describes slave attitudes and actions; slave-master relationships; the conditions of slave life, including diet, physical treatment, working conditions, housing, forms of resistance, and black overseers; slave cultural institutions; status distinctions among slaves; experiences during the Civil War and Reconstruction; and the subsequent life histories of the former slaves.An important contribution to the study of American slavery.

Social Justice / Race / Philosophy

Africa, Asia, and the History of Philosophy : Racism in the Formation of the Philosophical Canon, 1780-1830
The Kantian school and the consolidation of modern historiography of philosophy -- The birth of comparative history of philosophy: Joseph-Marie Degerando's Histoire comparee des systêmes de philosophie -- India in Friedrich Schlegel's comparative history of philosophy -- The exclusion of Africa and Asia from the history of philosophy: the formation of the Kantian position -- Systematic inclusion of Africa and Asia under absolute idealism: Friedrich Ast's and Thaddä Anselm Rixner's histories of philosophy -- Absolute idealism reverts to the Kantian position: Hegel's exclusion of Africa and Asia -- The comparative history of philosophy in a theological polemic against Hegel.
Race in America
This work examines the social and scientific definitions of race, the implementation of racialized policies and practices, the historical and contemporary manifestations of the use of race in shaping social interactions within U.S. society and elsewhere, and where our notions of race will likely lead. Try a search using the term "social justice."

Doing Philosophy Personally: Thinking About Metaphysics, Theism, and Antiblack Racism by Dwayne A. Tunstall
Call Number: B819 .T86 2013
ISBN: 0823251608
Publication Date: 2013-03-20
Gabriel Marcel's reflective method is animated by his extraphilosophical commitment to battle the ever-present threat of dehumanization in late Western modernity. Unfortunately, Marcel neglected to examine what is perhaps the most prevalent threat of dehumanization in Western modernity: antiblack racism. Without such an account, Marcel's reflective method is weakened because it cannot live up to its extraphilosophical commitment. Tunstall remedies this shortcoming in his eloquent new volume.
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice - A-H by Sherwood Thompson
Call Number: Reference Collection REF HM1271 .E485 2015
ISBN: 1442216042
Publication Date: 2014-12-18
The Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice contains over 300 entries alphabetically arranged for straightforward and convenient use by scholars and general readers alike. This reference is a comprehensive and systematic collection of designated entries that describe, in detail, important diversity and social justice themes. Thompson, assisted by a network of contributors and consultants, provides a centralized source and convenient way to discover the modern meaning, richness, and significance of diversity and social justice language, while offering a balanced viewpoint. This book reveals the unique nature of the language of diversity and social justice and makes the connection between how this language influences--negatively and positively--institutions and society. The terms have been carefully chosen in order to present the common usage of words and themes that dominate our daily conversations about these topics. Entries range from original research to synopses of existing scholarship. These discussions provide alternative views to popular doctrines and philosophical truths, and include many of the most popular terms used in current conversations on the topic, from ageism to xenophobia. This reference covers cultural, social, and political vernacular to offer an historical perspective as well. With contributions from experts in various fields, the entries consist of topics that represent a wider context among a diverse community of people from every walk of life.
Philosophy of Race: An Introduction by Naomi Zack
Call Number: HT1521 .Z327 2018
ISBN: 9783319787282
Publication Date: 2018-04-25
Philosophy of Race: An Introduction provides plainly written access to a new subfield that has been in the background of philosophy since Plato and Aristotle. Part I provides an overview of ideas of race and ethnicity in the philosophical canon, egalitarian traditions, race in biology, and race in American and Continental Philosophy. Part II addresses race as it operates in life through colonialism and development, social constructions and institutions, racism, political philosophy, and gender. This book constructs an outline that will serve as a resource for students, nonspecialists, and general readers in thinking, talking, and writing about philosophy of race.
Routledge Companion to Philosophy of Race by Paul C. Taylor (Editor); Linda Martin Alcoff (Editor); Luvell Anderson (Editor)
Call Number: HT1521 .R686 2018
ISBN: 9780415711234
Publication Date: 2017-12-12
For many decades, race and racism have been common areas of study in departments of sociology, history, political science, English, and anthropology. Much more recently, as the historical concept of race and racial categories have faced significant scientific and political challenges, philosophers have become more interested in these areas. This changing understanding of the ontology of race has invited inquiry from researchers in moral philosophy, metaphysics, epistemology, philosophy of science, philosophy of language, and aesthetics. The Routledge Companion to Philosophy of Race offers in one comprehensive volume newly written articles on race from the world¿s leading analytic and continental philosophers. It is, however, accessible to a readership beyond philosophy as well, providing a cohesive reference for a wide student and academic readership. The Companion synthesizes current philosophical understandings of race, providing 37 chapters on the history of philosophy and race as well as how race might be investigated in the usual frameworks of contemporary philosophy. The volume concludes with a section on philosophical approaches to some topics with broad interest outside of philosophy, like colonialism, affirmative action, eugenics, immigration, race and disability, and post-racialism. By clearly explaining and carefully organizing the leading current philosophical thinking on race, this timely collection will help define the subject and bring renewed understanding of race to students and researchers in the humanities, social science, and sciences.

Library Books & eBooks

Our books are shelved according to the Library of Congress Classification System. Log-in to your University Libraries account for several options while searching including placing holds, saving citations, and sending items you find via email.

ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1
Sources in Greek, Hebrew, and other biblical languages besides English documenting the recovery of languages used during the biblical era and provides an in-depth view of the way that interest in, and knowledge of, biblical languages emerged during the nineteenth century, an important foundation for today’s study and understanding of biblical languages (13th century to 1893).
ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2
Sources documenting religion in America at the turn of the century (1894-1923). Subjects addressed include the conflict between religion and science, the growing interest in Eastern religions and other world religions, and significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans.
Cambridge Companions
A series of authoritative guides and critical essays on topics and periods related to literature and classics, music, philosophy, religion, and culture.
FirstSearch
Collection of 13 databases, including WorldCat, ERIC and the GPO Monthly Catalog. Citations only.