Skip to Main Content
Creighton University Libraries
Klutznick Law Guides
Archives & Special Collections
Creighton University Libraries
Search this Guide
Drug Information Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experience
Reference & Instruction Librarian – Health Sciences
Deborah Divis, MLIS
Creighton University Health Science Library
2500 California Plaza
Omaha, NE 68178
Health and Wellness
Related Research Guide
Deborah Divis, MLIS
Last Updated Sep 11, 2023
43646 views this year
DIC - Suggested Open Access Resources
American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP)
Some features require a membership.
AHRQ Evidence-Based Decision Making Tools
Agency that focuses on research relating to EBP, patient safety, specific populations, public health preparedness, and other specialized health initiatives.
Open access journal site covering the areas of medicine and biology.
The National Library of Medicine (NLM)’s DailyMed searchable database provides the most recent labeling submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by companies and currently in use (i.e., "in use" labeling). DailyMed contains labeling for prescription and nonprescription drugs for human and animal use, and for additional products such as medical gases, devices, cosmetics, dietary supplements, and medical foods.
The DailyMed database contains labeling, submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by companies, for the following products:
Prescription drug and biological products for human use (labeling includes Prescribing Information, patient labeling, and carton and container labeling):
Drug products, and
Nonprescription (e.g., over-the-counter) drug and biological products for human use
Certain medical devices for human use
Medical gases for human and animal use
Prescription and nonprescription drugs for animal use
Additional products regulated, but not approved, by the FDA:
Certain medical devices
Unapproved prescription and nonprescription products
Dietary Supplement Label Database
The National Institutes of Health's Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) includes current and historical label information from products marketed in the U.S. Includes information from the labels of over 2,000 brands of dietary supplements in the marketplace, including vitamins, minerals, herbs or other botanicals, amino acids, and other specialty supplements.
Drug Approvals and Databases (FDA)
Contains multiple databases including Drug Safety-related Labeling Changes, Drug Shortages, FDA Adverse Event Reporting System (FAERS), OTC Monographs@FDA, Purple Book, and more.
Drugs @ FDA
includes most of the drug products approved since 1939. The majority of patient information, labels, approval letters, reviews, and other information are available for drug products approved since 1998.
FDA Information for Health Care Professionals | Drugs
This web page lists a number of information resources developed for health care professionals. Includes news, drug recalls, drug shortages, drug safety and availability, hematology/oncology approvals & safety notifications, and links to many more pertinent FDA web pages.
This Google search engine limits its coverage to educational, governmental, research, and non-profit organization web sites. Configure Google
Scholar to find links to open access and Creighton University Libraries' holdings by going into the menu > Settings > Library Links > type Creighton University and check relevant boxes > click Save. You can also enter the library of your future employers to search their institutional holdings.
The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate.
Medication Guides (FDA)
Medication Guides are paper handouts that come with many prescription medicines. The guides address issues that are specific to particular drugs and drug classes, and they contain FDA-approved information that can help patients avoid serious adverse events.
This database does not include Medication Guides for FDA-approved allergenic or cellular/tissue products (see FDA Online Label Repository or DailyMed for these Medication Guides)
MedlinePlus has extensive information from the NIH and other sources on over 650 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish (use the site map to find other languages), extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) is the Federal Government’s lead agency for scientific research on complementary and integrative health approaches.
National Drug Code (NDC) Directory
FDA’s National Drug Code (NDC) Directory contains information about finished drug products, unfinished drugs and compounded drug products.
NCI Dictionaries (National Cancer Institute)
Contains links for: NCI Dictionary of Cancer Terms, NCI Dictionary of Genetics Terms, and NCI Drug Dictionary.
NCI Dictionary of Cancer Terms:
A dictionary of cancer and biomedical terms defined in non-technical language. Terms and definitions are reviewed by a multidisciplinary panel of reviewers and new terms are added each month.
NCI Dictionary of Genetics Terms:
A dictionary of genetics terms written for healthcare professionals. This resource was developed to support the comprehensive, evidence-based, peer-reviewed PDQ cancer genetics information summaries.
NCI Drug Dictionary:
The NCI Drug Dictionary contains technical definitions and synonyms for drugs/agents used to treat patients with cancer or conditions related to cancer. Each drug entry includes links to check for clinical trials listed in NCI's List of Cancer Clinical Trials.
Nebraska Refugee Health Report 2020
Contains demographic information of refugees settled in Nebraska including native languages spoken and percentage of populations that have trouble understanding oral and/or written health information.
NIH Health Information Resources
NIH web page that allows you to search for health web sites created by NIH offices and divisions. Has science and wellness community resources.
The Orange Book has long been a reliable resource for information about FDA-approved drugs. The electronic availability of the Orange Book brings this valuable tool to the web for healthcare professionals. FDA Drug Info Rounds pharmacists discuss how to search the Electronic Orange Book for generic equivalents, patents, and exclusivity.
Pharmaceutics and Pharmaceutical Compounding Laboratory (UNC)
This site is an open-source site dedicated to compounding information. The site has content, laboratory exercises used in this academic setting, a library of over 150 instructional videos, and more than 700 study questions. It has been online since 1996, and listed as a Basic Resource in Pharmacy Education by the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy since 1999.
(CDC) The Epidemiology and Prevention of Vaccine-Preventable Diseases, a.k.a. the “Pink Book,” provides physicians, nurses, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, pharmacists, and other healthcare professionals with the most comprehensive information on routinely used vaccines and the diseases they prevent. The 14th edition of the Pink Book includes:
General immunization recommendations
Vaccine safety, storage and handling, and administration information
Detailed information about vaccine-preventable diseases, including disease pathogenesis, clinical features, epidemiology, and secular trends in the U.S.
Detailed information about vaccines, including vaccine characteristics, schedule and use, efficacy, safety, and contraindications and precautions
Four appendices provide reference materials, including: vaccine minimum age and intervals, vaccine excipients, catch-up schedules, and more.
PLoS Public Library of Science
PLoS publishes peer-reviewed, open access scientific and medical journals that include original research. Creighton is an institutional member. Author guidelines are available online.
Information on the biological activities of small molecules, including chemical compounds, substances, and structures.
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine database which contains more than 23 million citations, many of them free full text
A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.
FDA Purple Book: he Purple Book database contains information on all FDA-licensed (approved) biological products regulated by the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER), including licensed biosimilar and interchangeable products, and their reference products.
The Purple Book also contains information about all FDA-licensed allergenic, cellular and gene therapy, hematologic, and vaccine products regulated by the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research (CBER).
Enter a product's proprietary (brand) name or the nonproprietary (proper) name to find biological products. As you type, a list of potential results will begin to appear below the search box based on what you are typing. Click on a product from the auto-populated results list below to view the results page. The results page for your selected product will include all biological products that share a core name (i.e., biosimilar, interchangeable, reference, and related biological products).
Aggregates links that focus on health frauds, myths, fads, fallacies, and misconduct. Sections include: Quackery; Historic Reports; Questionable Products, Services, and Theories; Questionable Advertisements; Nonrecommended Sources of Health Advice; Consumer Protection; Consumer Strategy: Health Promotion; Consumer Strategy: Tips for Provider Selection; Consumer Strategy: Disease Management; Education for Consumers and Health Professionals; Legal and Political Activities; and Recommended Links.
CU Access Only -- See
A variety of databases covering topics such as medicine, drugs, alternative and complementary medicine, patient education and occupational health. Includes access to Red Book.
Secundum Artem (Perrigo Rx)
Click on the Secundum Artem tab to find compounding resources.
CDC Yellow Book: Health Information for International Travel is a resource for health professionals providing care to international travelers. It compiles the US government’s most current travel health guidelines, including pretravel vaccine recommendations, destination-specific health advice, and easy-to-reference maps, tables, and charts.
Aug 24, 2023 9:03 AM
Login to LibApps
Creighton University School of Pharmacy and Allied Health Professions
Doctor of Pharmacy
Drug Information Center
School of Pharmacy and Allied Health Professions
Creighton University Libraries
2500 California Plaza | Omaha, NE 68178-0209