Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Book Deselection 2022

General statement

This strategy has been developed to outline the scope and priorities of the library collections, and to inform the University community about collections decisions. The strategy stresses responsive selection of materials to support University programs and responsible stewardship of the University budget. The Collection Strategy contains guiding principles contributed by the professional staff of the Creighton University Libraries.  

In selecting academic information resources, the University Libraries observes the Library Bill of Rights issued by the American Library Association.  

The University Libraries collect resources outside the scope of this strategy. More information can be found at the following links; Archives & Special Collections, and Creighton Digital Repository (CDR). 

Guiding principles

Access:  

The University Libraries exist to serve the Creighton University community, directly serving University students, faculty, and staff. Members of this academic institution require access to a responsive, scholarly collection of resources to support teaching, learning, and the creation of new knowledge. The acquisition of new material supports our effort to create an inclusive environment. 

Diversity: 

The University Libraries will deliberately make selections to represent the diverse perspectives of scholars and researchers from communities which are historically marginalized and underserved.  

Partnership:  

Creighton University has three campus libraries: the Reinert Alumni Library, which serves the undergraduate and graduate liberal arts and business administration programs, the Health Sciences Library, which serves the health sciences programs, and the Law Library, which serves the School of Law. The campus libraries are committed to building collections collaboratively to reduce duplication of resources. The University Libraries maintain resource sharing partnerships with the state of Nebraska and the Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities (AJCU), and participates in select print retention programs, namely the National Library of Medicine’s MedPrint program.  

Stewardship:  

The University Libraries assume responsibility for providing sustainable, long-term access to collections throughout their lifecycle. Responsible stewardship of library collections includes careful evaluation of materials in all formats to determine their usefulness to our community. The collection strategy provides guidelines for selectors and will be periodically reviewed and revised.  

Mission:  

The properties and characteristics of all collections within the Libraries reflects the University’s institutional mission over time, and we recognize that both general and special collections have conventionally been founded on, influenced by, and biased toward embedded cultural, societal, institutional, and educational norms. 

Selection/Deselection: 

The Libraries collections are dynamic and responsive to the current and anticipated future needs of the University community. Decisions are informed by new curricula, developed to meet the needs of a more diverse student body, and by new and emerging areas of research being conducted by a broad spectrum of researchers. 

Decisions are evaluated against criteria that reflect the evolving and increasingly interdisciplinary curricula and research portfolio at Creighton University. Quantitative measures for assessment (usage, publication date, circulation, scarcity of content, and other data) are balanced with qualitative measures that promote preservation of and access to the widest range of cultural, scientific, and historical resources possible within budgetary constraints. 

Collection scope

Acquisition of materials is based on alignment with University programs and responsive to the needs of University students, faculty, and staff. Selection of new material employs collections tools, such as inclusion on standard lists and critical reviews of published content. The University Libraries seek to acquire materials in a format which provide seamless access to information while responsibly stewarding the collections budget.  

A. Nonfiction. The Libraries develop and maintain a scholarly, nonfiction collection adequate in depth and scope to support current academic programs, research, and general information needs of the University.  

B. Fiction. The Libraries acquire fiction titles to support University humanities programs, such as English, Creative Writing, Classical Languages, Film Studies, and Foreign Languages. A limited browsing collection is maintained, which includes popular fiction and audiobooks.  

C. Foreign language materials. The Libraries acquire limited foreign language materials to support relevant programs, including French and Francophone Studies, German Studies, Latin American Studies, and Spanish and Hispanic Studies. University librarians work closely with faculty on the selection and acquisition of foreign language titles. 

D. Juvenile works. The Libraries acquire juvenile materials to support the University's Education programs. Critically acclaimed juvenile titles are primarily acquired, including winners of the following awards: Randolph Caldecott Medal, John Newberry Medal, Boston Globe/Hornbook Award, ALA Notable Children's Books, N.Y. Times Choice of Best Illustrated Children's Books of the Year, and Coretta Scott King Awards. 

E. Serials/Periodicals. The Libraries acquire serials (periodicals, annuals, proceedings, monographic series) necessary to support University programs. Journal subscriptions represent a significant, ongoing commitment of resources and usage will be evaluated annually to make a recommendation for continuation.  

F. Newspapers. The Libraries acquire major local and national newspapers, such as the Omaha World Herald, New York Times and Wall Street Journal. A limited selection of foreign newspapers is acquired to support the academic foreign language programs and the international student population. A broader selection of national and international newspapers is made available via database services such as Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe, NewsBank Access World News, and individual online subscriptions (New York Times, etc.).  

G. Textbooks. The Libraries recognize that most textbooks, workbooks, and accompanying materials are generally introductory in nature and quickly become outdated. The University Libraries do not normally acquire such materials. Exceptions include classic textbooks, especially those in medical, scientific, technical, and business fields that have become recognized as standard references. Elementary and secondary texts are acquired as a part of a curriculum collection to support the University’s Education programs.  

H. Award-Winning/Notable Books. The Libraries prioritize purchases from CHOICE Outstanding Academic Books, ALA Notable Books, N.Y. Times Notable Books of the Year, and winners of the Booklist Adult Reviewer's Choice award. 

I. Reference Resources. The Libraries maintain a limited collection of reference materials, such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, and atlases to provide ready information and to identify sources of additional information. Reference material in an electronic format is preferred over print editions, except when a print copy is also desirable and heavily used, i.e., New Catholic Encyclopedia.  

J. Graphic Novels. The Libraries purchase a limited selection of graphic novels to support research in popular culture, literature, art, and cinema. The focus is on titles that have received awards, critical acclaim, or scholarly interest.  

K. Other. The Libraries may acquire non-traditional or unusual formats, such as dissertations, anatomical models, etc., on a case-by-case basis if they meet collection scope and meet a program need.