Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FY22 University Libraries Collections: Proposed Discontinuations

Alternate Access to Content

Interlibrary loan is provided at no cost to our students, faculty, and staff. The cost of interlibrary loan to the University ranges from $15-$35 per item (journal article, book chapter, etc.). Due to this, the collections team looks at journals with a cost per use above $30 to determine if interlibrary loan is an alternative. Most requests for journal articles through interlibrary loan are filled within 2 business days.

To request content via interlibrary loan, please place your request online:

Proposed Discontinuations

Below is a list of proposed electronic resources considered for cancellation, including the annual cost, use during the past year, and the cost per use. Please use this online form to recommend retaining these resources, please submit comments before December 21, 2020.

Resource Total Cost FY20 Use Cost per Use Description
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States $1,230 0 $1,230 Statistical reference published annually by the federal government since 1878. In 2011, the federal government eliminated the publication to reduce agency spending. ProQuest has been updating and releasing the publication since 2011.
CountryWatch Premium Online $1,312 2 $656

Political, economic, social, and environmental overviews, statistics, and news for approximately 200 countries and some non-sovereign nations.

Intelex Past Masters $788 4 $197 A collection of texts and translations in the history of philosophy and thought. 
Encyclopedia of Medical Devices and Instrumentation $768 2 $384 Digital encyclopedia of medical devices and instrumentation purchased as a part of the Wiley Online package.
IEEE Computer Society $4,999 40 $125 A collection of five journals from the IEEE Computer Society Digital Library. Titles include: Computer, Computing in Science & Engineering, IEEE Intelligent Systems, IEEE Transactions on Software Engineering, IEEE/ACM Transactions on Computational Biology and Bioinformatics.
Audio-Digest Premium $11,907 47 $253 Series of CME lectures as podcasts.
Ambrose Video Publishing $901 9 $100

Collection of streaming videos on history and a range of arts and sciences topics, including the complete BBC Shakespeare plays.

Mango Languages $8,844 171 $52

Online learning courses for more than 60 foreign languages, including English as a second language. Now available through the Omaha Public Library.

Gale Testing & Education Reference Center (TERC) $2,123 54 $39

Provides practice tests and study guides for college and graduate school exams (GRE, GMAT, LSAT, MCAT, TOEFL, etc.) plus additional career preparation resources.

NetAnatomy $1,595 3615 $0.44 Electronic resource designed to teach human anatomy to students of the health professions. University Libraries subscribes to four electronic anatomy resources, recommendation to consolidate to Complete Anatomy, Anatomy.TV and Acland Anatomy.

Tell us what you think!

The University Libraries are using a new process to engage faculty in collections decisions this year. Do you like it? Is there some way it can be improved? Tell us what you think!


Creighton University - 2500 California Plaza - Omaha NE - 68178 - 402.280.2227
Contact the Webmaster - Copyright © 2015