LibraryGuides: Nursing: HSL Resources and Research

Library Resources

AAMC Online Clinical Experience Courses Options
A new resource collection open to educators the help them develop clinical learning experiences without patient contact.
Omaha System COVID-19 Response
It incorporates evidence-based practice & standards of care from sources, such as WHO, to help those providing health care.

Case Files Collection
Features basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases from 23 Case Files series books (such as anatomy, pharmacology, emergency medicine, family medicine, internal medicine, ob/gyn, pediatrics, psychiatry, and surgery), and the personalized functionality to let users mark their progress through completed and unseen realistic patient cases.

Overview of HSL Services

Key Nursing Databases & Resources

CINAHL Complete
CINAHL is databases that indexes the largest number of nursing journals. It also contains regulations, laws, book reviews and other professional materials.
MEDLINE Complete
An authoritative index of biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. It also provides the full text of over 2,500 of the journals in the database.
PubMed.gov
Indexes biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. From off campus, enter PubMed via the library website for Creighton linkouts.

Other Databases & Resources

APA PsycInfo
Search articles from more than 1,300 periodicals, as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials, in psychology and related fields, plus books, book chapters, and dissertations (1887-present). Includes a thesaurus feature to suggest productive search terms to guide users to relevant results.
Education Source
A database of education journals and other sources for early childhood through higher education (1929-present).
Google Scholar
A simple way to search scholarly materials on the open web. To view links directly to CU Libraries' resources when searching Google Scholar, be sure to make us your library. You can do this by navigating to the menu at the top left > Settings > Library links > add Creighton University.

ERIC
U.S. Dept. of Education databases that collects all types of information related to educations covering the entire lifespan and purposes.
American Academy of Pediatrics Red Book Online

Overview of Libraries Web Site

JaySearch
Creighton Libraries' catalog of information resources including electronic, print, music, films, and more.

Creighton Electronic Journals Search
Allows searching for a specific electronic journal titles held by CU Libraries.
Retraction Watch
Resource tracking retracted publications.

Research Guide

Basic Search Tools
Reviews the use of Boolean Operators, nesting, truncation, wild characters, and record fields that can be used in searching.
HSL Nursing Resource List
List of databases available for nursing which includes other public electronic resources.

PICO Table & Form for Nursing
McMaster University Nursing page with help on developing questions.

EBP Search Strategies for Nursing
HSL suggestions for search in CINAHL and Medline for EBP articles.

Evidence Based Databases & Resources

Cochrane Library
International databases that collects and produces the best quality review and meta-analysis with an emphasis on impacting patient care.
JAMAevidence
A platform designed to help clinicians make evidence-based healthcare decisions. It contains textbooks, tools, and forms useful to the critical appraisal process, including Users’ Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, The Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence-Based Clinical Diagnosis, JAMA Guide to Statistics and Methods, and Care at the Close of Life: Evidence and Experience.

Trip Database
Tool to help search for high-quality clinical research evidence information
more...less...
Has an advance and PICO search options.

RefWorks & Citation Tools

There is a new RefWorks version that works well with MACS. You can move your account or continue to the the original version. Below are links to the information and login page for both versions. The Libraries will be holding training sessions beginning this Spring or you can contact the HSL or RAL Reference Desks.

New RefWorks Information Page & Login
RefWorks Help Videos
Login to the New RefWorks
Create a new account or login to your existing RefWorks account
RefWorks Guide
Informational guide with tutorials and login link to RefWorks

Style Manuals & Publication Tips

APA Style (Web Site)
Has good examples for 7th and 6th editions.

Cabells Scholarly Analytics
Submission/manuscript requirements, acceptance rates, review information and more for journals in education, psychology, business, computer science, and nursing

APA Style Guide from the Purdue OWL
Some information in the Owl site has not been updated for APA 6th Ed.
AMA Manual of Style
American Medical Association. Also in print: Reference R 119 .A533 2007
AMA Quick Guide
American Medical Association (produced by Reinert-Alumni Library)

Predatory Publishing
Tip sheet for identifying predatory publishers and practices.

APA 6th & 7th Comparison
List key differences between APA 6th & 7th editions.

Articles on Predatory Publishing
Helpful articles on the topic of predatory publishing.

Hemingway Writing Application
Free and pay version.

Designing Science Presentations by Matt Carter
ISBN: 1283805901
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
"Designing Science Presentations "guides researchers and graduate students of virtually any discipline in the creation of compelling science communication. Most scientists never receive formal training in the creation, delivery, and evaluation of such material, yet it is essential for publishing in high-quality journals, soliciting funding, attracting lab personnel, and advancing a career. This clear, readable volume fills that gap and provides visually intensive guidance at every step from the construction of original figures to the presentation and delivery of those figures in papers, slideshows, posters, and websites. It provides pragmatic advice on the preparation and delivery of exceptional scientific presentations; demonstrates hundreds of visually striking presentation techniques, giving readers inspiration for creating their own; and is structured so that readers can easily find answers to particular questions. Clear heading for each section indicates its message, highlighted with graphic illustrations Two summary paragraphs that complement the visual images and clearly discuss the main pointNumerous examples of high-quality figures, page layouts, slides, posters, and web pages to help stimulate readers' ideas for their own presentationsNumerous "before and after" examples to illustrate the contrast between poor and outstanding presentations"