LibraryGuides: Country Information: Business & Statistics

Country Information

Business Source Complete
Select "Country Reports" (at right). Includes overviews, economic studies, and marketing reports for countries A to Z.

Doing Business
"Provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 183 economies."
http://www.doingbusiness.org/
GLIN: Global Legal Information Network
Official texts of laws, regulations, judicial decisions, and other legal sources contributed by governmental agencies and international organizations.
http://www.glin.gov
Human Development Reports
Includes the Human Development Index (HDI) measuring health, education, and standard of living by country. Also available in print.
http://hdr.undp.org/en/countries/
IMF eLibrary
Database of economic statistics produced by the International Monetary Fund, with annual data on banking and trade for countries and the world.
International Monetary Fund Yearbooks
- Annual statistics by country, in hard copy:
- Balance of Payments Statistics, Reference HG 3882 .B34 (year)
- Direction of Trade Statistics, Reference HF 91 .I65 (year)
- Government Finance Statistics, Reference HJ 101 .G68 (year)
- International Financial Statistics, Reference HG 61 .I57 (year)
International Trade Statistics Yearbook
United Nations trade by country and trade by commodity (1992-present). Previous years in Reference Storage: HF 55.U5 Y4 (1952-82, incomplete) and HF 55.U5 I58 (1983-91).

Mergent Online
Select a Country Profile for an overview of the economy, industry, geography, history, people, government, communications, media, and transportation.
Updated weekly.

Provides immediate access to data on more than 10,000 NYSE, AMEX, Nasdaq and other select regional exchange companies. Coverage includes: history, business description, properties, subsidiaries, officers, directors, long-term debt, Moody's rating, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, statements of cash flow, auditors, exchange and ticker symbol, number of employees, number of shareholders, address, telephone number, annual stock price ranges, trustee, registrar, transfer agent, stock splits, annual meeting date, Moody's news reports, and direct, real-time access to the EDGAR, the SEC website which includes are annual, quarterly, and special corporation records.

Mergent's Horizon allows you to dissect a company's business based on products and services, find competitors by product/trade name, and identify key relationships.
OECD iLibrary
An online library of statistical databases, books, and periodicals from OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development) about various topics, including education; energy; finance and investment; science and technology; social issues; urban, rural and regional development; transport; and more.

UNdata
Statistical information from U.N. member states on a range of economic and societal topics, as well as Millennium Development Goals indicators.
World Development Indicators (The World Bank)
World Bank statistics for developing nations on health, education, welfare, natural resources, and economic growth, with 10-20 years of comparative data, plus Global Development Finance.